MEDICAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

January 1, 2024 – July 31, 2024

CHAIR

Mark Beard, MD, Dean, Medical Student Education

VOTING MEMBERS TERM EXPIRES Curtis Kost, PhD, Division of Basic Biomedical Sciences, Elected 2026 Michael Chaussee, PhD, Division of Basic Biomedical Sciences, Elected 2026 Craig Uthe, MD, Department of Family Medicine, Elected 2024 Lesta Whalen, MD, Department of Pediatrics, Elected 2024 Jennifer Hasvold, MD, Department of Internal Medicine (Rapid City) 2025 Taylor Soderling, PhD, Division of Basic Biomedical Sciences, Elected 2025 Amy Eichfeld, MD, Department of OBGYN (Yankton), Elected 2025 Kyle Siemers, MD-PhD student representative 2023 Cole Tessendorf, Class of 2025 Student Representative 2024 Collin Olevson, Class of 2026 Student Representative 2025 Abbey Rieber, Class of 2027 Student Representative 2026

- Edward Bagu, PhD, Division of Basic Biomedical Sciences, Pillar 1 Subcommittee Representative
- Lee Baugh, PhD, Division of Basic Biomedical Sciences, Pillar 1 Subcommittee Representative
- Andrew Ridder, MD, Department of Neurology, Pillar 2/3 Subcommittee Representative
- Arleigh Trainor, MD, Department of Family Medicine, Pillar 2/3 Subcommittee Representative

ADVISORY

- April Willman, MD, Dean Yankton Campus (or designee)
- Bruce Cuevas, PhD, *Director, Pillar* 1
- Daniel Bird, PhD, Associate Dean, Division of Basic Biomedical Sciences
- Janet Fulk, Assistant Director, Frontier and Rural Medicine (FARM) Program
- Jaymi Russo, MEd, Evaluation and Assessment Specialist
- Byron Nielsen, Director, Pillar 3
- Alan Sazama, MD, Assistant Dean, Medical Student Education, Pillar 2 Director
- Lori Hansen, MD, Dean Medical Student Affairs
- Matthew Simmons, MD, Dean Rapid City Campus (or designee)
- Michelle Schimelpfenig, DO, MPH, *Dean, Sioux Falls Campus (or designee)*
- Pasquale Manzerra, PhD, Assistant Dean, Medical Student Affairs
- Rebecca Lustfield, PhD, Evaluation and Assessment Specialist
- Suzanne Reuter, MD, Assistant Dean, Medical Student Affairs

- Timmi Johnson, *Library*
- Valeriy Kozmenko, MD, Director, Parry Center for Clinical Skills and Simulation
- Denae Clobes, Assistant Registrar, Student Records/Registrar, Medical Student Affairs

CURRICULAR & LEARNER ASSESSMENT SUBCOMMITTEE

Oversee and help coordinate efforts in ongoing curriculum modification; to advise on OSCE and other integrated assessments; to review new course requests.

- Daniel Bird, PhD (Chair)
- Jennifer Lindgren (Pillar 3/CO 2024 Student Representative)
- Bruce Cuevas, PhD
- Jennifer Hasvold, MD, FACP
- Lori Hansen, MD

EVALUATION SUBCOMMITTEE

Oversee the centralized course and clerkship evaluation system and maintain a mechanism for the overall review of all courses and clerkships by the MEC.

- TBD (Chair)
- Cole Tessendorf (Pillar 2/CO 2025 Student Representative)
- Arleigh Trainor, MD
- Craig Uthe, MD
- Edward Bagu, PhD
- Lee Baugh, PhD
- Jaymi Russo, MEd
- Matthew Simmons, MD

OFFICE OF MEDICAL EDUCATION

Provide reports and administrative support for MEC.

- Alan Sazama, MD, Assistant Dean of Medical Student Education, Pillar 2 Director
- Rebecca Lustfield, PhD, Evaluation and Assessment Specialist
- Jaymi Russo, MEd, Evaluation and Assessment Specialist
- Kayla Keeler, OME Deans Assistant
- Tiffany Semmler, Pillar 2 and 3 Assistant