Beacom Business
The Beacom School of Business at the University of South Dakota recognized students,
distinguished alumni and business leaders for their outstanding service and support at
the 64
annual Beacom School of Business Award Luncheon held in October 2011.
Megan Maassen
of Brandon, S.D., was the recipient
of the Outstanding Senior Award. Maassen graduated
in December 2011 with a Master of Professional
Accountancy (M.P.A.) degree and upon graduation,
began her career at KPMG in Minneapolis as a federal
tax associate. Throughout her time at USD, Maassen
participated in Student Government Association, Beta
Alpha Psi and Accounting Club.
The Outstanding Graduate Student Award was
presented to
Cheryl Tiahrt
of Wakonda, S.D. Tiahrt
received her M.B.A. in May 2011 and her bachelor’s degree
in computer science in 1991, both from USD. Tiahrt has
years of experience in the information technology field.
She began her USD career as a desktop support technician
and has been promoted three times in her 14 years with
the university. Today, she is the director of Information
Technology Services and deputy chief information officer
at the University of South Dakota.
Gary DeVries
M.P.A., CPA, was the recipient of the
Distinguished Service Award: Alumnus. As managing
Students, Alumni and
Business Leaders Honored
a t 6 4
t h
A n n u a l Awa r d s L u n c h e o n
Back row, L-R: Cheryl Tiahrt, Megan Maassen, Gary DeVries, Brian Gramm and Beth Davis
Front row, L-R: Raymond Ring, Jon Carpenter and Diego Salazar