director of Lamont Enterprises LP of Aberdeen, S.D.,
DeVries oversees all facets of the organization, including
finance, operations and personnel management. He
received both his B.S. in business administration-
accounting and Master of Professional Accountancy
from USD in 2001 and spent 10 years as senior audit
manager at KPMG LLP in Omaha, Neb. While at
USD, DeVries served as president of Beta Alpha Psi and
was involved in Beta Gamma Sigma, Mortar Board,
Dakotans and Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity. DeVries
also serves in the South Dakota Army National Guard
in the 196 th Maneuver Enhancement Brigade out of
Sioux Falls.
The Distinguished Service Award: South Dakota
Business Person of the Year was given to
Brian Gramm
M.B.A., founder and CEO of Peppermint Clean Energy,
a renewable energy company. Gramm founded Milo
Belle Consultants, which provides Governance, Risk,
and Compliance services such as internal audit, PCI
compliance, Sarbanes-Oxley, internal controls, XBRL,
HIPPA and other related services. He is also an adjunct
instructor for the Beacom School of Business at University
Center in Sioux Falls and has served on the board of
directors for Granite City Food & Brewery.
Beth Davis
president of South Dakota Rural
Enterprises of Renner, S.D., was awarded the Distinguished
Service Award: Service to South Dakota Businesses. Davis
is the senior managing director of Dakotas America, a
community development entity, and president of South
Dakota Rural Enterprise, Inc., a statewide, not-for-profit
that stimulates financial and human investment in South
Dakota communities which invest in themselves. Prior
to South Dakota Rural Enterprise, Davis was a partner
in Midwest Mediation and Facilitation, Inc., a conflict
resolution firm specializing in business and environmental
disputes. She served as the interim director for the
Entrepreneur Network for Women and coordinator for the
Center for Enterprise Facilitation and directed a statewide
community health education non-profit.
The 64 th annual Beacom School of Business Award
Luncheon also honored emeriti faculty members Jon
Carpenter, Ph.D., professor emeritus of accounting;
Raymond Ring, Ph.D., professor emeritus of economics;
and Diego Salazar, Ph.D., professor emeritus of statistics.