South Dakotan Lawyer In Brief Spring/Summer 2013 - page 6

Rusch Selected for ADR Honor
 In February, the Alternative Dispute
Resolution (ADR) Board awarded Judge
Arthur Rusch the ADR Judge of the Year
award for his outstanding service as a
judge in the ADR intra-school
competitions. He also helped judge an
exercise during an Arbitration class.
In the fall, six board members (Kelsey Bauerly Langel, Trent
Arlint, Matt Campbell, Emily Swanson, Carmen Evenson and Chris
Olson) competed in the ABA Regional Negotiation Competition
at St. Thomas School of Law in Minneapolis. ADR also sent four
members (Tamara Nash, Shane Andrews, Dan Nelson and Nate
Nelson) to compete in the ABA Regional Arbitration Competition
at the John Marshall Law School in Chicago. Furthermore, ADR
hosted its annual 1L Intra-School Negotiation Competition at the
law school.
In the spring, four members
(Kelsey Bauerly Langel, Matt
Campbell, Melinda Folkens and
Nate Nelson) competed in the
ABA Regional Client Counseling
Competition at William Mitchell
School of Law in Minneapolis.
The board also sent two members (Dan Nelson and David Stoos)
to compete in the ABA Representation in Mediation Competition
in Berkeley, Calif. and sent four members (Tamara Nash, Kassie
McKie, Chris Olson and Trent Arlint) to the ABA Annual Dispute
Resolution Conference in Chicago. ADR also hosted its annual 1L
Intra-School Client Counseling Competition at the law school.
Moot Court Members Host
New York Tournament
The USD Law Moot Court Board
had a year of many highlights. One
such highlight was the hosting of the
Region 14 rounds of the New York
City Bar’s 63rd Annual National Moot
Court Competition on Nov. 9-10 at
the Minnehaha County Courthouse in
Sioux Falls. In addition to the USD School of Law, other teams
participating represented Drake University, University of Iowa,
Hamline University, University of Minnesota, University of St.
Thomas and William Mitchell College of Law.
More than 60 lawyers and judges judged rounds during the
New York City Bar competition. The final round was judged by the
Hon. Roger Wollman, Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth
Circuit; Hon. Lawrence Piersol, Judge, U.S. District Court, South
Dakota; and Hon. Glen Severson, Justice, Supreme Court of South
Dakota. A judge’s luncheon and other aspects of the tournament
were funded by the Sioux Falls law firm Woods, Fuller, Shultz &
Smith and the tournament was coordinated by Caleb Veldhouse.
Another highlight was two moot court members, Christopher
Dabney and Kara Frankman-Madsen, winning the 31st Annual
International Moot Court Competition in Information Technology
& Privacy Law, held in October at the John Marshall School of Law
in Chicago. They also received the award for the best respondent’s
brief. Furthermore, Patrick Weber, Ryan Kurtz, and David Sahli
earned Top 5 Brief and advancement to the round of 16 at the
McGee Civil Rights Tournament hosted by the University of
Minnesota School of Law. Caleb Veldhouse, Tony Lamb and Eric
Erickson finished ninth out of 64 teams at a tournament hosted by
St John’s University. At the NY Bar Regional Tournament, Kristi
Jones, Kelsey Parker and Tony Lamb advanced to the round of
eight teams, and Adam Shiffermiller, Morgan Peck and PJ Painter
advanced to the round of four teams.
The Moot Court board also sent the following teams to the
following tournaments: Weschler First Amendment Tournament–
Christen Leedom, Patrick Weber and Eric Erickson; Emory Civil
Rights Tournament– David Sahli and Ryan Kurtz; American Bar
Association Tournament–Team 1: Morgan Peck, Kelsey Parker
and PJ Painter, Team 2: Christen Leedom, Kristi Jones and Adam
Shiffermiller; National Security Tournament - Kara Frankman-
Madsen and Christopher Dabney.
SamMasten Moot Court Tournament
In March, USD Law hosted the
annual Sam Masten Tournament,
the 1L Moot Court competition,
which culminates in a final round
judged by the Justices of the SD
Supreme Court. The tournament
was coordinated by Patrick Weber.
The Moot Court board congratulates all 62 participants, winner
Nick Moser, runner-up James Shanor, Best Brief winners Liz Chrisp
and Nick Moser, and thanks all who helped judge rounds, especially
the Justices of the South Dakota Supreme Court.
After the final round of the Sam Masten tournament, Woods,
Fuller, Shultz & Smith sponsored a reception at the Al Neuharth
Media Center, at which James Wiederrich of Woods Fuller presented
Dean Thomas Geu with a check for the Moot Court program. The
Moot Court board thanks Woods Fuller for its continued support of
the USD Moot Court program.
1,2,3,4,5 7,8,9,10
Powered by FlippingBook