South Dakotan Lawyer In Brief Spring/Summer 2013 - page 7

USD Outlaws Host Lavender Lecture
The USD Law OUTlaws hosted
the Lavender Lecture with Former Iowa
Supreme Court Justice Michael Streit
in February in the courtroom, with a
reception sponsored by the ACLU of
South Dakota following in the Commons.
Streit was appointed to the Iowa
Supreme Court in 2001. He participated
in the unanimous decision in Varnum
v. Brien which struck down a statutory same-sex marriage ban as
unconstitutional. Streit spoke about the Varnum decision and
judicial independence.
SBA Presents Volunteer Service
Award, Jackson Award
The Honorable Susan Sabers of Sioux
Falls was honored by the USD Student
Bar Association (SBA) as the recipient of
the 2013 Volunteer Service Award. The
award was presented by SBA President
Kristi Jones at the annual Barristers’ Ball
on March 23 in Sioux Falls.
Jones also presented the 2013 John Wesley Jackson Outstanding
Faculty Award at the Barristers’ Ball. The recipients of this award
were Chris Hutton and Patrick Garry. This year marked the first
time since the award began in 1981 that the voting for the award
ended in a tie.
Along with the Barristers’ Ball, SBA
also held events for students such as the
annual hockey night trip to Sioux City
to watch a hockey game and a bus trip
to various meet-and-greets in rural towns
surrounding Vermillion.
Women in Law Names Justice
Lori Wilbur Attorney of the Year
USD Women In Law hosted an event
honoring SD Supreme Court Justice Lori
Wilbur with its “2012 Attorney of the
Year” award in September in the law school
Women In Law also began a Legal
Practitioner-Law Student Mentorship
program and held events including a
“Heels of Power” social at the State Bar
Meeting, presentation at Girls’ State
about law school, “Quiz Your Professors”
competition, meet-and-greets with new
faculty and University President James W.
Abbott, and a spring panel discussion with
guests Nancy Turbak Berry, Amy Bartling,
Professor Wendy Hess and Dean Angela Ericson.
Pictured (top) are WIL President Suzie Jones-Pranger and Justice
Wilbur, and (bottom) USD President James W. Abbott and WIL
member Laura Hofer.
Trial Teams Compete in Tournaments, Host Competition
By Associate Professor Thomas Horton
2012–13 was another banner year for
USD’s trial teams. This year, 31 of our 3Ls (42
percent) competed in at least one national trial
tournament, and six competed in two or more.
Overall, 11 USD teams competed in eight
national tournaments, including six invitation-
only events. Our teams traveled to such distant
cities as San Juan,Washington, D.C., Sacramento,
Houston, Chicago and Buffalo to compete
against the best teams in the United States. Each
of our teams represented USD successfully and impressively, and
several qualified for the elimination rounds of their competitions.
While we logged thousands of miles, the highlight of the year
was competing in the Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA)
Regional Competition in Sioux Falls in February.
Thanks to the amazing efforts of Sid Strange, Bob
Ulrich, Eric Schulte, Cliff Sargent, Susan Sabers,
Jeff Larson, Jessica Perkins, Dean Tom Geu and
many others, South Dakota hosted one of the
best tournament events in recent memory. All of
the competitors from around the western half of
the United States and their coaches agreed that
it was one of the best run events they had ever
competed in. We cannot thank the South Dakota
Trial Lawyers enough for working so hard and putting on such a
terrific event. We were all very proud! We are looking forward to
another successful year in 2013–14.
1,2,3,4,5,6 8,9,10
Powered by FlippingBook