College of Arts & Sciences Human Factors

Faculty

JanBerkhout_115
Jan Berkhout

Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1962
Jan.Berkhout@usd.edu

Research interests: signal light designs for emergency vehicles, cell phone keypads, workstation evaluations, accident reconstruction

   
MichaelGranaas_115
Michael Granaas

Ph.D., University of Kansas, 1986
Michael.Granaas@usd.edu

Research interests: human-computer interface design, with an emphasis on real-time and statistical data displays

   
Doug Peterson
Doug Peterson

Ph.D., Kansas State University, 1998
Doug.Peterson@usd.edu

Research interests: individual and shared mental models in training and assessment of complex systems, allocation of attentional resources, risk perception

   
Frank Schieber
Frank Schieber

Ph.D., University of Notre Dame, 1985
Frank.Schieber@usd.edu

Research interests: vision from vehicles; aging and driving; design of products and environments for an aging population

   
Straub,-Holly_115
Holly Straub

Ph.D., Texas Tech, 1989
Holly.Straub@usd.edu

Research interests: retrieval of geographical knowledge, cognitive activities associated with the entry of numerical data

   

cindy_struckmanJohnson

Cynthia Struckman-Johnson

Ph.D., University of Kentucky, 1978
Cindy.Struckman-Johnson@usd.edu

Research interests: applied social psychology and persuasion and advertising; sex differences in social-sexual behavior; public acceptance and use of safety devices such as automobile seat belts and child restraint systems

   
XTwang_115
X.T. Wang

Ph.D., New Mexico State University, 1993
XT.Wang@usd.edu

Research interests: behavioral studies and computer modeling of human judgement and decision-making; electrophysical studies of emotional and cognitive processes