College of Fine Arts Music

You are here:

Faculty & Staff

Our faculty offers students an extraordinary 1:9 teacher-to-student ratio, ensuring personal attention from teachers who get to know their students. As highly accomplished performers and academic experts in their field, our excellent faculty members bring to teaching an important balance of scholarship and experience.

Keyboard Faculty

Woodwind, Percussion & Brass Faculty

Theory/Composition & Electronic Music Faculty

Strings Faculty

Voice Faculty

 

 

Faculty & Staff
Alvis Jonathan Alvis, D.M.A.
Athletic Bands Director
Assistant Professor
Studio Low Brass, Marching Band Techniques
605-677-5727
Jonathan.Alvis@usd.edu
Fett Darlene Fett, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Music Education      
605-677-5720
Darlene.Fett@usd.edu        
Marie-Elaine Gagnon Marie-Elaine Gagnon, D.M.A.
Associate Professor
Studio Cello, Music Appreciation, Rawlins Piano Trio 
605-677-5725
MarieElaine.Gagnon@usd.edu
Gesteland Tracelyn Gesteland, D.M.A.
Assistant Professor
Studio Voice, Opera Workshop, Diction, Vocal Pedagogy, Song Literature
605-677-5719
Tracelyn.Gesteland@usd.edu       
Gray Susan Keith Gray, D.M.A.
Professor
Studio Piano, Class Piano, Rawlins Piano Trio
605-677-5724
Susan.Gray@usd.edu
Hendrickson Brandon Hendrickson, D.M.A.
Assistant Professor of Music/Opera
Studio Voice, Opera Workshop, Diction, Vocal Pedagogy, Song Literature
605-677-5718    
Brandon.Hendrickson@usd.edu
Mike-Hilson-115x130 Mike Hilson
Adjunct Instructor
Guitar
David Holdhusen David Holdhusen, Ph.D.
Interim Chair of Music Department/Director of Choral Activities
Associate Professor
Choirs, Conducting, Choral Literature & Techniques, Studio Voice
605-677-5721
David.Holdhusen@usd.edu         
bruce_kelley Bruce Kelley, Ph.D.
Professor
Music Theory
605-677-5411
Bruce.Kelley@usd.edu
Kim Eunho Kim, D.M.A.
Assistant Professor
Violin
605-677-5186
Eunho.Kim@usd.edu
John-Klinghammer-115x130 John Klinghammer, D.M.A.
Adjunt Instructor
Clarinet
605-677- 5274
John.Klinghammer@usd.edu 
 
C.J. Kocher Christopher Kocher, D.A.
Associate Professor
Studio Saxophone, Woodwinds, Jazz Studies
605-677-5728
Christopher.Kocher@usd.edu
Kocher Stephanie Kocher, M.Mus.
Adjunct Instructor
Flute
605-677-5274
Stephanie.Kocher@usd.edu          
Paul-Lombardi-115x130 Paul Lombardi, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Music Theory and Composition
605-677-5717
Paul.Lombardi@usd.edu 
Moskowitz David Moskowitz, Ph.D.
Professor
Music History
605-677-5716
Dave.Moskowitz@usd.edu
eric-mosterd Eric Mosterd, M.Mus.
Adjunct Instructor
Music History
605-677-5411
Eric.Mosterd@usd.edu
Olson Rolf Olson, D.A.
Director of Bands
Associate Professor
Symphonic Band Director, Studio Trumpet, Brass Choir, Jazz Ensemble
605-677-5726
Rolf.Olson@usd.edu   
Reeves Gary L. Reeves, D.M.A.
Associate Professor
Horn, Conducting, Instrumental Methods, Bands
605-677-5715
Gary.Reeves@usd.edu         
Rognstad Richard Rognstad, D.M.A.
Professor
Studio Bass, String Methods, Music Theory, Orchestra, American Music
605-677-5722
Richard.Rognstad@usd.edu        
Schou Larry Schou, D.M.A.
Dean, College of Fine Arts
Professor
Studio Organ, Harpsichord, World Music
605-677-5481
Larry.Schou@usd.edu          
Skyrm Susanne Skyrm, D.M.A.
Professor
Studio Piano, Class Piano
605-677-5723
Susanne.Skyrm@usd.edu
Thomas Loretta Thomas, M.Mus.
Adjunct Instructor
Bassoon
605-677-5274
Loretta.Thomas@usd.edu
Wadley Darin Wadley, D.M.A.
Associate Professor
Studio Percussion and Methods, Percussion Ensembles, Steel Drum Band, Music Theory, Marching Band
605-677-5730 
Darin.Wadley@usd.edu          
Laurie-Brown-115x130 Laurie Brown
Senior Secretary
Laurie.G.Brown@usd.edu



Emeriti Faculty

Usher Abell (deceased)
Frank Aiello, Frank.Aiello@usd.edu
Bea Chaffee (deceased)
Paul Cherry, pdcherry@bellsouth.net
Ray DeVilbiss (deceased)
Robert Marek  (deceased)
Lawrence L. Mitchell, Lawrence.Mitchell@usd.edu
Jack Noble
Courtland 'Skip' Swenson
Larry Torkelson (deceased)
Stephen Yarbrough, Stephen.Yarbrough@usd.edu