Graduate School

You are here:

Political Science


Degrees Offered:

Master of Arts (M.A.)

Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.)

Emphasis Areas in:
  • American Politics and Public Policy (M.A.)
  • International Relations (M.A.)
  • Public Law (for joint J.D./M.A. students only)
  • Public Administration (Ph.D.)
  • Public Policy (Ph.D.)
  • American Political Institutions (Ph.D.)
Required Test for Admission:


Required Supplemental Application Materials:


Application Deadline:

February 15 to be considered for an assistantship
July 1 for enrollment

Ph.D. (fall start only):
March 15 to be considered for an assistantship
July 15 for enrollment

Department Contact Information:

University of South Dakota
Political Science Department
414 E. Clark Street
Vermillion, SD  57069
Phone: 605-677-5242
Fax: 605-677-8808

Program website


Program Director:

Elizabeth Theiss Smith, Ph.D.


request-info-button   apply-now-button

For additional information about the Political Science programs offered at USD, Request More Information or contact the Graduate School at or 1-800-233-7937.