Sanford School of Medicine School of Medicine

You are here:

2010 Distinguished Alumni Award

Dr. David Zeigler and Dr. Wendell Hoffman

Dr. David Zeigler, president of the Alumni Relations Council,
and Dr. Wendell Hoffman, award winner

Recipient: Wendell Hoffman, M.D.

The Sanford School of Medicine of The University of South Dakota has presented its 2010 Distinguished Alumni Award to a physician who is a leader on bioterrorism prevention, patient safety and medical education.  

Wendell Hoffman, M.D., Class of 1979, is a specialist in infectious disease and the patient safety officer at Sanford USD Medical Center. He received his undergraduate and medical degree from The University of South Dakota. He then completed his residency training in internal medicine as well as a fellowship in infectious disease at the Mayo Graduate School of Medicine. Hoffman has been part of the medical school's faculty since 1987. He's now a clinical associate professor of internal medicine.  

As a renowned expert on infectious diseases, his leadership has made the medical community and the state better prepared to handle pandemics. He received the South Dakota State Medical Association's Community Service Award for his work on bioterrorism prevention. In addition to his state medical association award, Hoffman was named Doctor of the Year at Sanford USD Medical Center in 2007.  

Hoffman works tirelessly on patient safety. His passion for innovation in this area includes his work as an educator. "His contribution to our school is invaluable," Rodney R. Parry, vice president for health affairs and medical school dean, said. "As a clinical professor, he continually strives to ensure that our medical students keep pace with the latest trends in the patient safety movement."   The award was presented at the annual alumni banquet, which is sponsored by the medical school and the school's Alumni Relations Council, on Friday, May 7.  

More Information