Sanford School of Medicine Internal Medicine

Faculty & Staff


LuAnn Eidsness, M.D., FACP, Professor & Chair

Vice Chair

David Zeigler, M.D., Ph.D, Associate Professor & Vice Chair


The Department of Internal Medicine has more than 270 faculty members in academic, clinical and hospital settings throughout South Dakota and the tri-state area.


The Department of Internal Medicine is organized into several divisions. They incorporate sub-specialties such as allergy/immunology, cardiology, critical care, dermatology, endocrinology, ethics/hospice/palliative care, gastroenterology, geriatrics, hematology/oncology, hospitalist medicine, infectious diseases, nephrology, pulmonology, research and rheumatology. Internal Medicine physicians are charged with the singular responsibility of comprehensive coordination of health services delivery for their patients.


Becky Hinton (, Department Manager
Nancy Frantz (, Senior Secretary