Sanford School of Medicine Internal Medicine

LuAnn Eidsness, MD, FACP

LuAnn Eidsness, M.D.Professor & Chair of the Department of Internal Medicine

  • B.A. Nursing, Augustana College
  • Neonatal nurse clinician degree, South Dakota State University and South Dakota Perinatal Program
  • M.D., Sanford School of Medicine
  • Residency in Internal Medicine, Sanford School of Medicine
  • Master's in Selected Studies with an Emphasis in Ethics, Augustana College
  • Board certified Internal Medicine, Hospice and Palliative Medicine
Career Highlights
  • Academic faculty of Sanford School of Medicine since 1990
  • Chair of the Section of Ethics and Humanities, Department of Neurosciences, Sanford School of Medicine since 1999
  • Co-Chair of LifeCircle South Dakota, Partners Improving End of Life Care in 1999
  • Medical Director of Hospice and Palliative Medicine, Sanford USD Medical Center since 2002
  • Medical Director of Ethics, Sanford USD Medical Center since 2002
  • Chair of the Department of Internal Medicine, Sanford School of Medicine since 2004
Service Highlights
  • Co-Chair, Sioux Falls Bioethics Network
  • Fellow and member, American College of Physicians, SD ACP Member, American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine
  • Member, South Dakota State Medical Association
  • Member, Association of Professors of Medicine (APM), Communications Committee
  • Member, DeGroot Center for Ethics & Caring Advisory Board
  • Member, Great Plains Medical Research Foundation Board of Directors
  • Member, South Dakota State Medical Association Committee on Legislation
  • Medical staff leadership, Sanford USD Medical Center
Honor Highlights
  • American Medical Association EPEC Project (Educating Physicians on End-Of-Life-Care) Department of Internal Medicine, Sanford School of Medicine
  • Chairman's Award for Excellence in Administration
  • Doctor of the Month, Sanford USD Medical Center
  • Elected to the South Dakota Chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society as an Alumni member
  • Friend of Nursing Award, Sanford USD Medical Center
  • South Dakota Humanitarian Award, South Dakota Chapter of the American College of Physicians