Department Chair

Russell WilkeRussell Wilke, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair

Vice Chair

David ZeiglerDavid Zeigler, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Vice Chair


There are more than 250 faculty members in academic, clinical and hospital settings throughout South Dakota.


Toni LeVasseur
Department Manager

Amanda Kurtenbach
Department Assistant

Justin Jons
Department Assistant

Shirley Burgers
Residency Program Coordinator

Myrna Boekhout
Geriatrics Fellowship Program Coordinator