• Undergraduate degree from University of Nebraska Lincoln
  • M.D. degree from University of Nebraska College of Medicine
  • Internship, Internal Medicine, the University of South Dakota Affiliated Hospital
  • Residency, Internal Medicine,  the University of South Dakota Affiliated Hospital
  • Fellowship, Thoracic Diseases, Mayo Clinic

Career Highlights

  • Campus Dean – Avera Sacred Heart Yankton, 1994 to present
  • Pulmonologist – Yankton Medical Clinic, P.C., Yankton SD
  • Professor – Sanford School of Medicine of the University of South Dakota

Service Highlights

  • Board Member, Yankton Rural Area Health Education Center, Center Office – 2009 to present
  • Executive Committee South Dakota AHEC Program Office, 2009 to present 
  • Coordinator, Yankton Ambulatory Program for third-year medical students, 1991 to present
  • Medical Director, Cardiopulmonary Department and Sleep Laboratory, Avera Sacred Heart Yankton Hospital, 1989 to present
  • Recipient of 5 grants including Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation Grant, Yankton Asthma Grant and CIDD Technology Grant
  • Over 35 presentations and 15 published pieces

Honor Highlights

  • AAMC Shining Star Educational Innovation Award, 2013
  • Alpha Omega Alpha member
  • Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Teaching, 1995 and 1998
  • American College of Chest Physicians- Dupont Young Investigators Award, 1988
  • University of Nebraska Regents Scholar
  • Mortar Board Honor Society Member