Oct 8, 2009

USD’s medical school faculty honored by state organization

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The South Dakota Chapter of the American College of Physicians recently honored three doctors who are faculty members of the Sanford School of Medicine of The University of South Dakota.
LuAnn Eidsness, M.D., professor and chair of the Department of Internal Medicine, received the organization’s Humanitarian Award. Thomas Braithwaite, M.D., clinical faculty member, received the group’s Laureate Award, and Suneet Verma, M.D., clinical faculty member, received the Young Physician of the Year Award.

In addition to her medical school role, Eidsness is medical director of Hospice and Palliative Medicine and Ethics at Sanford USD Medical Center. She graduated from our medical school in 1987 and our internal medicine residency program. The Humanitarian Award honors doctors who have distinguished themselves as true humanitarians.

Braithwaite is an associate professor with the medical school’s internal medicine department. He also is the medical director of the Sanford USD Medical Center Hospitalist Program as well as director of cardiac rehab and clinical practice committee chair. He graduated from our medical school in 1982 and completed his internal medicine residency at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. The Laureate Award honors doctors with an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, research and service.

Verma, a clinical assistant professor in the medical school’s Department of Internal Medicine, is also an internist and clinical lipidologist with Avera McGreevy Clinic in Sioux Falls.  He holds a medical degree from the University college of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, India. He completed his residency at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine. The Young Physician of the Year Award is bestowed upon a physician who has taken a leadership role in the South Dakota Chapter of ACP.

About the Sanford School of Medicine

For more than a century, the Sanford School of Medicine of The University of South Dakota has set the standard for medical education of students, residents and professionals in the state. The school’s mission includes education, research and service. It emphasizes family practice to help create the next generation of doctor’s for all parts of the state. The school’s economic impact includes attracting $17 million annually in research funding as well as hosting two of the four 2010 Research Centers designated by the governor.
About The University of South Dakota
Founded in 1862, The University of South Dakota is designated as the only public liberal arts university in the state and is home to a comprehensive College of Arts and Sciences, School of Education, School of Health Sciences, the state's only School of Law, School of Medicine, the accredited Beacom School of Business and the College of Fine Arts. USD has an enrollment of more than 10,000 students taught by more than 400 faculty members. More information is available at www.usd.edu/press/news.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Peter Carrels
The University of South Dakota
(605) 216-1233
< Back to news
414 East Clark Street • Vermillion, SD 57069
605-677-5759 • 605-677-6534 fax