Apr 25, 2011

Fifteen from USD inducted into AOA national honor society

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The South Dakota chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha will induct 12 students, one faculty member, one alumnus and one resident at an induction banquet in Sioux Falls, S.D. on Thursday, May 5. It will be the 34th new member installation of the Sanford School of Medicine of The University of South Dakota’s chapter. Alpha Omega Alpha is the only national honor medical society in the world.

Eight students from the Class of 2011 were elected last fall: Matthew J. Anderson of Sergeant Bluff, Iowa, Laura Doshier of Rapid City, S.D., Kelly Larson of Brandon, S.D., Marta Lewis of Clackamas, Ore., Sarah Liebe of Milbank, S.D., John Reynen of Sioux Falls, S.D., and Jared A. Sutton of Watertown, S.D. Four students from the Class of 2012 were elected as juniors this spring: Kelly Evans of Brookings, S.D., Alicia M. Palmer of Pierre, S.D., and Courtney Grimsrud and Carl P. Rasmussen of Sisseton, S.D.

Alpha Omega Alpha is organized for educational purposes and aims to promote scholarship and research in medical schools through the encouragement of a high standard of character and conduct among medical students and graduates. The USD chapter was granted its charter in 1978. Members of Alpha Omega Alpha at The U must rank in the top 25 percent of their graduating class with no more than one-sixth of potential graduates elected for membership. Scholastic excellence is not the only criterion for election; integrity, capacity for leadership, compassion and fairness in dealing with colleagues are considered to be of equal significance.

In addition to students, the chapter elected one faculty, one alumnus and one resident. Dr. James Bowman was the alumnus, Dr. David Rossing is the faculty inductee and Dr. Sara Ruter, Internal Medicine resident, is the resident.

About The University of South Dakota
Founded in 1862, The University of South Dakota is designated as the only public liberal arts university in the state and is home to a comprehensive College of Arts and Sciences, School of Education, School of Health Sciences, the state's only School of Law, School of Medicine, the accredited Beacom School of Business and the College of Fine Arts. USD has an enrollment of more than 10,000 students taught by more than 400 faculty members. More information is available at www.usd.edu/press/news.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Peter Carrels
The University of South Dakota
(605) 216-1233
< Back to news
414 East Clark Street • Vermillion, SD 57069
605-677-5759 • 605-677-6534 fax