Mar 23, 2012

USD Political Science League Farber Lecture welcomes John Hibbing

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The Political Science League at the University of South Dakota welcomes an address from Dr. John Hibbing entitled, “Predisposed: Why Liberals and Conservatives are So Different” at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, March 28 at Farber Hall in Old Main. The lecture is part of the W.O. “Doc” Farber Memorial Lecture Series.

Hibbing is currently the Foundation Regents Professor of Political Science and Psychology at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.  For nearly 20 years, he studied Congress, congressional careers, congressional elections, comparative legislatures, and public opinion toward Congress. Then, about a decade ago, he, John Alford (Rice University) and Kevin Smith (UNL) began investigating the role of biological factors in explaining political variation – an uncommon approach for the discipline of political science at the time. He previously edited the Legislative Studies Quarterly, served as chair of the American Political Science Association’s Legislative Studies Section and co-authored “Congress as Public Enemy” and “Stealth Democracy” (with Elizabeth Theiss-Morse). A NATO Fellow in Science and a Senior Fulbright Fellow, Hibbing was recently elected a Fellow in the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Named for William O. “Doc” Farber (1910-2007), who led a distinguished career in political science at USD for more than three decades, the W.O. Farber Memorial Lecture Series aims to provide students and the public with insight into national and state politics, campaigns and elections, public administration issues and international relations.

USD’s Political Science League, a non-partisan student organization, is dedicated to providing opportunities that facilitate political discourse on current local, national, and international issues in order to generate heightened political awareness in the student body and community. More information about the W.O. Farber Memorial Lecture Series and the USD Department of Political Science is available at

About The University of South Dakota
Founded in 1862, The University of South Dakota is designated as the only public liberal arts university in the state and is home to a comprehensive College of Arts and Sciences, School of Education, School of Health Sciences, the state's only School of Law, School of Medicine, the accredited Beacom School of Business and the College of Fine Arts. USD has an enrollment of more than 10,000 students taught by more than 400 faculty members. More information is available at

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Phillip Carter
The University of South Dakota
< Back to news
414 East Clark Street • Vermillion, SD 57069
605-677-5759 • 605-677-6534 fax