Apr 23, 2012

U. Discover Research Scholar Program announces 2012 participants

VERMILLION, S.D. -- Thirteen students from the University of South Dakota were recently selected to participate in the U. Discover Research Scholar Program this summer.

The U. Discover Summer Research Scholar Program is a project of the Council for Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity. Students apply to the program and undergo a competitive selection process. The program is designed to give undergraduate students in any academic field experience in conducting a scholarly research project under the guidance of a faculty mentor. Selected students participate as a group in bi-weekly lunch hour presentations on various topics related to conducting research activities and learn from their peers about research in different disciplines. 

Research scholars are required to maintain a journal about the process of conducting their research. In addition, scholars will present their project at the South Dakota Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network poster session at the Sanford School of Medicine and IdeaFest 2013.

Summer 2012 undergraduate participants, their faculty sponsors and disciplines include: Adrian Ries of Elk Point, S.D., and Dr. John Koster (Music Performance—Piano); Christine Rinehart of Tea, S.D., and Dr. Elizabeth Moore (Biology and Mathematics); Collin Michels of Yankton, S.D. and Dr. Brian Hensel (Biology and Spanish); Daniel Davies of Vermillion and Dr. Gina Forster (Biology and History); Hanna McElroy of Sioux City, Iowa, and Dr. Sandy McKeown (Political Science and Criminal Justice); Jennifer Dumdie of Selby, S.D. and Dr. Jose Flores (Biology and Mathematics); Jordana Lamb of Vienna, S.D. and Dr. Hugh Britten (Biology and Psychology); Kaitlin Branick of Sioux Falls, S.D. and Dr. Khosrow Rezvani (Biology and Chemistry); Marcus Tjeerdsma of Tyndall, S.D. and Dr. J. Scott Pattison (Biology); Nate Buchholz of Monroe, S.D. and Dr. Cory Knedler (Studio Art); Stephen Bollinger of Pierre, S.D. and Dr. Evelyn Schlenker (Chemistry and Psychology); Thomas Bickett of Rapid City, S.D. and Dr. Victor Huber (Biology); Trevor Watson of Sioux Falls, S.D. and Dr. Victor Huber (Biology and Spanish)

About The University of South Dakota
Founded in 1862, The University of South Dakota is designated as the only public liberal arts university in the state and is home to a comprehensive College of Arts and Sciences, School of Education, School of Health Sciences, the state's only School of Law, School of Medicine, the accredited Beacom School of Business and the College of Fine Arts. USD has an enrollment of more than 10,000 students taught by more than 400 faculty members. More information is available at www.usd.edu/press/news.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Peter Carrels
The University of South Dakota
(605) 216-1233
< Back to news
414 East Clark Street • Vermillion, SD 57069
605-677-5759 • 605-677-6534 fax