May 11, 2012

Students compete in first USD-Wells Fargo Equity Research Competition

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The University of South Dakota Department of Finance recently partnered with Wells Fargo EFS to sponsor the first USD-Wells Fargo Student Equity Research Competition. Through a donation from Wells Fargo to the USD Finance Department, 11 students competed in the equity research competition, which allowed the participants to gain investment analysis and valuation experience.

The 11 USD students formed four teams to analyze four different publicly traded for-profit education firms, Capella University, DeVry University, ITT Education Services and Strayer Education, the winner of the competition. Students on the Strayer Education team were senior accounting major Rebecca Duncan of Brandon, S.D., Logan Nord of Harrisburg, S.D., a sophomore economics major, and Aaron Steele, a sophomore finance major from Vermillion. They received a prize of $1,500 while second place in the competition (and $1,000 in prize money) was awarded to ITT Educational Services, which included M.B.A. student Tyler Stewart of Sioux City, Iowa, and Nicholas Gates of Mitchell, S.D., who graduated with his M.B.A. from USD last summer. Third place Capella University researchers Alex C. Johnson, a senior finance major from Spencer, Iowa, Aaron Oestmann, a senior finance major from Rapid City, S.D., and junior finance major Howard Schmidt of Loveland, Colo., received $500. Brandon Flynn, Matthew Hicks and Joseph Jares, all senior finance majors from Sioux Falls, S.D., finished in fourth place and received $250 for their analysis of DeVry University.

The competition, which began with a kickoff event in February, also included a 10-page research report and a 20-minute presentation, and it was judged by Glen Herrick, senior vice president, Corporate Finance and Treasury at Wells Fargo, Jason Engman, C.F.A., assistant vice president at Wells Fargo, and Jarrod Edelen, C.F.A., a small/midcap portfolio manager at the South Dakota Investment Council. The research presentations, all open to the public, were held on the morning of April 13 at Beacom Hall on the USD campus.

About The University of South Dakota
Founded in 1862, The University of South Dakota is designated as the only public liberal arts university in the state and is home to a comprehensive College of Arts and Sciences, School of Education, School of Health Sciences, the state's only School of Law, School of Medicine, the accredited Beacom School of Business and the College of Fine Arts. USD has an enrollment of more than 10,000 students taught by more than 400 faculty members. More information is available at

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Peter Carrels
The University of South Dakota
(605) 216-1233
< Back to news
414 East Clark Street • Vermillion, SD 57069
605-677-5759 • 605-677-6534 fax