May 25, 2012

Outstanding high school students attend Governor’s Leadership Luncheon at USD

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The W.O. Farber Center for Civic Leadership at the University of South Dakota, University of South Dakota Foundation, sponsored the 12th annual Governor’s Leadership Luncheon on Saturday, May 12 at the ballroom of the Muenster University Center.

More than 130 high school sophomores from across South Dakota, Iowa, Minnesota and Nebraska attended this prestigious event that honors outstanding students for their contributions in and out of the classroom as well as for their potential to be future leaders of society.

In addition to the luncheon, Dustin “Dusty” Johnson, chief of staff to South Dakota Gov. Dennis Daugaard, provided the keynote address. Johnson received a bachelor’s degree in political science from USD and a master’s degree in public administration from the University of Kansas. A Truman Scholar (1998), Johnson served on the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission for six years prior to joining the governor’s office.

Below is an alphabetical listing of students invited to attend to 2012 Governor’s Leadership Luncheon. For more information, please visit

Zachary P. Andera, Aberdeen, S.D.; Courtney Anderson, Sturgis, S.D.; Elizabeth Anderson, Bowdle, S.D.; Elliane A. Antrim, Brandon, S.D.; Courtney Arthur, South Shore, S.D.; Ellie Benson, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Kolby L. Benson, Hot Springs, S.D.; Josie K. Berglund, Sturgis, S.D.; Nicholas N. Bien, Brookings, S.D.; Savannah B. Bivens, Langford, S.D.; Josie M. Blare, Carter, S.D.; Mitchell J. Bolkema, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Haley L. Boyer, Hudson, S.D.; Samantha Bradfield, Lake Preston, S.D.; Gavin D. Brucklacher, Philip, S.D.; Maci R. Burke, Chamberlain, S.D.; Brianna J. Buseman, Canistota, S.D.; Davis B. Carson, Chamberlain, S.D.; Vlad I. Chilom, Brookings, S.D.; Kimberly Y. Chow, North Sioux City, S.D.; Allison Cimpl, Wagner, S.D.; Hannah M. Cook, Ponca, Neb.; Jenna R. Czarnecki, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Elizabeth A. Day, Belle Fourche, S.D.; Rebecca M. Desens, Aberdeen, S.D.; Christopher Downey, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Layne M. Droppers, Yankton, S.D.; Moira E. Duffy, Rapid City, S.D.; Cheyenne Edelman, Menno, S.D.; Nicole Eisenbraun, Wall, S.D.; Leah R. Ellensohn, Le Mars, Iowa; Alex J. Eshenbaum, Faulkton, S.D.; Austin J. Felts, Le Mars, Iowa; Justine R. Fischer, Hartington, Neb.; Mattison J. Flakus, Aberdeen, S.D.; Zachary J. Freese, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Shannon L. Gacke, Brandon, S.D.; Ellen J. Gallagher, Moville, Iowa; Scout A. Gambill, Hot Springs, S.D.; Allison J. Geier, Roscoe, S.D.; Laura K. Gerkin, South Sioux City, Neb.; Jacob A. Giles, Madison, S.D.; Carly A. Goodhart, Browns Valley, Minn.; Katelyn N. Graber, Hurley, S.D.; Rylee J. Green, Kingsley, Iowa; Levi S. Grubb, Belle Fourche, S.D.; Bailey K. Grussing, Rushmore, Minn.; Natasha Guajardo, Ridgeview, S.D.; Gerardo Guerrero, Sioux City, Iowa; Cody L. Gunther, Aberdeen, S.D.; Brady J. Hallenbeck, Warner, S.D.; Dylan J. Hanson, Grenville, S.D.; Cathryn R. Hanzlik, Niobrara, Neb.; Hailey J. Harms, Colman, S.D.; Rae A. Hattan, Sioux City, Iowa; Yixuan He, Brookings, S.D.; Lucas A. Heiberger, Hartford, S.D.; Anna L. Hemenway, Huron, S.D.; Arthur J. Hines, Huron, S.D.; Haley J. Holzwarth, Parker, S.D.; Taylor S. Homann, Pipestone, Minn.; Kirby A. Hora, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Codi B. Horst, Gregory, S.D.; Jack D. Huether, Viborg, S.D.; Alexander Humpton, Twin Brooks, S.D.; Sara C. Husher, Winner, S.D.; Brooke R. Ireland, Sturgis, S.D.; Nicklaus R. Jensen, Vermillion, S.D.; Brian A. Joachim, Corsica, S.D.; Kylie E. Johnson, Montrose, S.D.; Hope L. Juntunen, Vienna, S.D.; Samantha J. Keifer, Rosholt, S.D.; Karli M. Kilby, Faith, S.D.; Madison R. Kirsch, Rapid City, S.D.; McKenzie L. Kjose, Lennox, S.D.; Hannah C. Knock, Bryant, S.D.; Hunter M. Koch, Yankton, S.D.; Christina M. Koeck, Miller, S.D.; Erin Kuestermeyer, Wolsey, S.D.; Preston J. Larson, Wakonda, S.D.; Allyson R. Ledeboer, Armour, S.D.; Christian P. Lewis, Frankfort, S.D.; Allison A. Linafelter, Sioux City, Iowa; Matthew Loomis, Garden City, S.D.; Clara W. Macfarlane, Sioux City, Iowa; Baylee R. Mattison, South Sioux City, Neb.; Mariah Mikkonen, Frederick, S.D.; Seth C. Miller, Vermillion, S.D.; Olivia C. Minnaert, Madison, S.D.; Rebecca Moorhead, Colome, S.D.; Paige H. Mriden, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Chesney D. Nagel, Springfield, S.D.; Brandi Ober, Wagner, S.D.; Alec J. Oleson, Groton, S.D.; Seamus G. O’Malley, Centerville, S.D.; Emily A. Paltz, St. Helena, Neb.; Rheanna D. Pheifer, Platte, S.D.; Sean M. Pinkert, Milbank, S.D.; Danika L. Pollreisz, Ethan, S.D.; Anne E. Prouse, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Ellie S. Rabenberg, Glenham, S.D.; Wesley Rasmusson, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Jackson L. Richards, Madison, S.D.; Taylor A. Roemen, Tea, S.D.; Vanessa B. Ryken, Gayville, S.D.; Amy L. Sanderson, Elkton, S.D.; Alyssa M. Schild, Yankton, S.D.; Kyle P. Schroeder, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Jacob J. Servaty, Spearfish, S.D.; Austin E. Settje, Corona, S.D.; John D. Shape, Spencer, S.D.; Tiffany D. Shaving, Dupree, S.D.; Callie A. Sleep, Spearfish, S.D.; Peyton Smith, Lantry, S.D.; Coley H. Stoller, Madison, S.D.; Logan M. Strasburg, Volga, S.D.; Nicole Streit, Hawarden, Iowa; Cortny R. Surber, Concord, Neb.; Hailey M. Sveegen, Beresford, S.D.; Bailey Thompson, Elkton, S.D.; Kali A. Trautman, Clear Lake, S.D.; Allison G. Van Horn, Letcher, S.D.; Ashley M. Waagen, Huron, S.D.; Kayla L. Wede, Lawton, Iowa; Jamie R. Withorne, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Mickee E. Witt, Rock Rapids, Iowa; Julie R. Wolf, Sisseton, S.D.; Anna J. Wolles, Dell Rapids, S.D.; Paige M. Wright, Brandon, S.D.; Derek C. Wynia, Platte, S.D.; Alexandria Yoerger, Hinton, Iowa

About The University of South Dakota
Founded in 1862, The University of South Dakota is designated as the only public liberal arts university in the state and is home to a comprehensive College of Arts and Sciences, School of Education, School of Health Sciences, the state's only School of Law, School of Medicine, the accredited Beacom School of Business and the College of Fine Arts. USD has an enrollment of more than 10,000 students taught by more than 400 faculty members. More information is available at

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Peter Carrels
The University of South Dakota
(605) 216-1233
< Back to news
414 East Clark Street • Vermillion, SD 57069
605-677-5759 • 605-677-6534 fax