Nov 26, 2012

Accounting and Finance Division at USD hosts recognition dinner

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The Accounting and Finance Division of the University of South Dakota hosted a recognition dinner on Thursday, Nov. 15. The event honored several alumni and the academic achievements of current accounting and finance students at USD.

Alumni Tammy Otten, John Aesoph and Daniel Meyer were honored for their outstanding service to the accounting and finance division of the Beacom School of Business. Otten is an assistant investment officer with the South Dakota Investment Council in Sioux Falls, SD. She completed her business degree with a major in accounting in 1981. Aesoph is a partner with KPMG LLP in Omaha, Neb. and received his B.B.A. with a major in accounting in 1994. Meyer, a partner with Ernst and Young LLP in Milwaukee, Wis., also obtained his undergraduate degree from USD. 

Students recognized for their academic performance for the 2011-2012 academic year were nominated by accounting and finance faculty after submitting applications and resumes for top performance awards consideration. Award winners were selected based on their academic achievements as well as community involvement, including active membership in USD’s accounting and finance organizations, and by participating in community service activities. Top performance award winners were Kara Fischbach of Mellette, S.D., Bailey Fish of Brandon, S.D., Jill Guericke of White Lake, S.D., Evan Hegge of Dell Rapids, S.D., Brett Kruiter of Watertown, S.D., Molly Larson of Sioux Falls, Maggie Lubeck of Cherokee, Iowa, Judon Mehlhaff of Eureka, S.D., Erik Muckey of Corsica, S.D., Jennifer Murtha of Parkston, S.D., Jerry Rodriguez of Sturgis, S.D., Kendell Smith of Mitchell, S.D. and Carlye Williams of Madison, S.D.

Nominated students were Matt Westra, Rock Valley, Iowa; Brittanie Blaseg, Pierre, S.D.; Kayla Cuperus, Rock Rapids, Iowa; Krista Dittus, Sarah Ridley, Kassie Hoiland, Molly Larson, Nicole Dang, Devon Johnson, Sara Palen, Evan VerWey and Ellen Ingebrigtson, Sioux Falls; Ashley Pickner, Pukwana, S.D.; Lauren Casey, Yankton, S.D.; Deborah Green and Aaron Steele, Vermillion; Renee Grabow, Watertown; Brandon Gronseth, Mitchell; Samantha Marcellus, Norfolk, Neb.; Alex Bordewyk, Madison; Craig Gutz, Pierce, Neb.; Kayla Giesey, Christine Morgan and Ian Bell, Rapid City, S.D.; Austin Eichacker, Lennox, S.D.; Jamie Worrall, Huron, S.D.; Travis Brown, Mapleton, Iowa; Sonya Storm, Corsica; Ryan Leaf, Oviedo, S.D.; Brent Impecoven, Inwood, Iowa; and Nicole Funck, Dakota Dunes, S.D.

About The University of South Dakota
Founded in 1862, The University of South Dakota is designated as the only public liberal arts university in the state and is home to a comprehensive College of Arts and Sciences, School of Education, School of Health Sciences, the state's only School of Law, School of Medicine, the accredited Beacom School of Business and the College of Fine Arts. USD has an enrollment of more than 10,000 students taught by more than 400 faculty members. More information is available at

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Peter Carrels
The University of South Dakota
(605) 216-1233
< Back to news
414 East Clark Street • Vermillion, SD 57069
605-677-5759 • 605-677-6534 fax