Jan 24, 2013

USD law student recipient of ABA’s 2013 Janet D. Steiger Fellowship

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The American Bar Association Section of Antitrust Law has selected University of South Dakota School of Law student Shekar Jayaraman as a Steiger Fellow in the State of South Dakota Office of Attorney General Consumer Protection Division.

Out of more than 300 applications nationwide that were submitted, only 34 students were selected for Fellowships. The eight-week paid Fellowships were initiated in 2004 by the ABA Section of Antitrust Law, in cooperation with the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG), as a consumer protection outreach initiative to introduce law students to the rewards of legal careers in public service.  

“I feel very honored to have been chosen for the Janet D. Steiger Fellowship.  I enthusiastically look forward to spending my summer in Pierre and contributing to the work of the South Dakota Attorney General,” said Jayaraman, a native of Cincinnati, Ohio, who is currently a second year USD law student.

Last summer, he interned at the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Tennessee under U.S. Magistrate Judge Susan K. Lee.  As a first year law student, Jayaraman was president of his class. Prior to attending law school, he worked for Ohio Secretary of State Jennifer Brunner and represented her in five counties in southern Ohio. He also interned under U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown in Washington, D.C. and Gov. Ted Strickland in Columbus, Ohio. A photograph of Jayaraman is available at www.usd.edu/press/news/images/releases/Shekar_Jayaraman.jpg.

Janet Dempsey Steiger served under four U.S. Presidents: Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, Bill Clinton and George H. W. Bush and was a leader in providing consumer protection during her tenure as chair of the Federal Trade Commission where she made consumer protection a national priority. The Section of Antitrust Law of the American Bar Association established the Steiger Fellowship Project in her memory. Her full biography is available for download at www.americanbar.org/content/dam/aba/administrative/antitrust_law/at_steiger_bio.authcheckdam.pdf.

For more information about the Janet D. Steiger Fellowship Project, please visit the project’s website at http://www.americanbar.org/groups/antitrust_law/awards_fellowships/steiger_fellowship_project.html.

About The School of Law

The University of South Dakota School of Law provides a high-quality legal education that prepares students for leadership in the administration of justice in South Dakota and for success in private practice, public service, business and other law-related endeavors anywhere. For information about the USD School of Law, please contact Associate Dean Tom Sorensen at Tom.Sorensen@usd.edu or (605) 677-5393.

About The University of South Dakota
Founded in 1862, The University of South Dakota is designated as the only public liberal arts university in the state and is home to a comprehensive College of Arts and Sciences, School of Education, School of Health Sciences, the state's only School of Law, School of Medicine, the accredited Beacom School of Business and the College of Fine Arts. USD has an enrollment of more than 10,000 students taught by more than 400 faculty members. More information is available at www.usd.edu/press/news.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Peter Carrels
The University of South Dakota
(605) 216-1233
< Back to news
414 East Clark Street • Vermillion, SD 57069
605-677-5759 • 605-677-6534 fax