Apr 5, 2013

USD Sanford School of Medicine names new chair of pediatrics

VERMILLION, S.D. -- Archana Chatterjee, M.D., Ph.D., has been named chair of the Department of Pediatrics and senior associate dean for faculty development at the University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine.

Chatterjee comes to the Sanford School of Medicine from Creighton University School of Medicine in Omaha, Neb., where she has served as a professor of pediatrics since 2004 and associate dean for academic and faculty affairs since 2011.

“We are very pleased to welcome Dr. Chatterjee as our new pediatrics chair,” said Mary Nettleman, M.D., M.S., M.A.C.P., dean of the Sanford School of Medicine and vice president for health affairs at USD. “She brings a wealth of experience and insight to the position, which will benefit our students and the patients they will eventually serve throughout the region and beyond.”

In addition to her distinguished career in academic medicine, Chatterjee has participated in several special training and development programs, including a Headwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) Fellowship with Drexel University in 2007-08, Total Leadership (as part of an ELAM advisory group) in 2011-12 and the Leadership Development Workshop for the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) in 2012.

She has published extensively on a variety of topics, including immunogenicity (which examines the potential efficacy of elements within vaccines) and infection control policies within the context of children’s hospitals.

Chatterjee received her doctorate from the University of Nebraska Medical Center in 1993, and her M.B.B.S. (equivalent to M.D.) from Pune University, Maharashtra, India, in 1983. She completed her pediatric residency at Creighton University/University of Nebraska Medical Center in 1995, and her fellowship in Pediatric Infectious Diseases through the same program in 1998.

About the School of Medicine

For more than a century, the University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine has set the standard for medical education of students, residents and professionals in the state. The school’s mission includes education, research and service. It emphasizes family practice to help create the next generation of doctors for all parts of the state. The school’s economic impact includes attracting $17 million annually in research funding as well as hosting two of the four 2010 Research Centers designated by the governor.

About The University of South Dakota
Founded in 1862, The University of South Dakota is designated as the only public liberal arts university in the state and is home to a comprehensive College of Arts and Sciences, School of Education, School of Health Sciences, the state's only School of Law, School of Medicine, the accredited Beacom School of Business and the College of Fine Arts. USD has an enrollment of more than 10,000 students taught by more than 400 faculty members. More information is available at www.usd.edu/press/news.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Peter Carrels
The University of South Dakota
(605) 216-1233
< Back to news
414 East Clark Street • Vermillion, SD 57069
605-677-5759 • 605-677-6534 fax