Apr 22, 2013

USD Sanford School of Medicine selects Alumni Student Scholars

VERMILLION, S.D. -- Four South Dakota high school seniors have been selected to participate in the Alumni Student Scholar Program (ASSP), sponsored by the University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine Alumni Relations Council. This year’s recipients are Tanner Colombe, of Mission, S.D.; Jacob Haiar, of Mitchell, S.D.; Michaela McGrann, of Sioux Falls, S.D.; and Schae Hanson, of Burke, S.D.

Since 1992, this program has identified promising South Dakota high school students who have demonstrated a strong interest in medicine and a desire to practice in primary care – particularly family practice – in South Dakota. Recipients of the scholarships will be enrolled in USD’s Honors Program and receive conditional admission into the Sanford School of Medicine.

“For a long time, we’ve had a sense that if you have students from the state, who receive their undergraduate and medical school educations in-state and ultimately do their residencies in the state (or somewhere close by), there is a much greater likelihood that they will establish their medical practice within the state,” said Gerald Yutrzenka, Ph.D., associate professor in the Division of Basic Biomedical Sciences, Director of ASSP and pre-medicine advisor at the Sanford School of Medicine. “For a significant number of these ASSP students, this is exactly what has happened.”

ASSP students qualify for a USD Coyote Commitment during their undergraduate years and will receive a $1,000/year medical school tuition scholarship renewable for up to four years of medical school at Sanford School of Medicine. In addition, ASSP students entering Sanford School of Medicine are eligible to compete for one $5,000 ASSP medical school tuition scholarship renewable for up to four years of medical school.

Alumni Student Scholar Program applicants must be South Dakota residents, must be graduating seniors enrolled in a South Dakota high school, must have, as a minimum, a combined score of 1240 on the SAT or 28 on the ACT, and must attend the University of South Dakota for their undergraduate degree. Selected ASSP applicants must graduate within four years with at least a 3.5 undergraduate grade point average, complete all pre-medicine and ASSP requirements as well as complete the requirements of the USD Honors Program.

About the School of Medicine

For more than a century, the University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine has set the standard for medical education of students, residents and professionals in the state. The school’s mission includes education, research and service. It emphasizes family practice to help create the next generation of doctors for all parts of the state. The school’s economic impact includes attracting $17 million annually in research funding as well as hosting two of the four 2010 Research Centers designated by the governor.

About The University of South Dakota
Founded in 1862, The University of South Dakota is designated as the only public liberal arts university in the state and is home to a comprehensive College of Arts and Sciences, School of Education, School of Health Sciences, the state's only School of Law, School of Medicine, the accredited Beacom School of Business and the College of Fine Arts. USD has an enrollment of more than 10,000 students taught by more than 400 faculty members. More information is available at www.usd.edu/press/news.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Peter Carrels
The University of South Dakota
(605) 216-1233
< Back to news
414 East Clark Street • Vermillion, SD 57069
605-677-5759 • 605-677-6534 fax