May 1, 2013

School of Health Sciences announces faculty award recipients

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The University of South Dakota School of Health Sciences announced that four members of the faculty have been honored with 2013 faculty awards.

William Schweinle, assistant professor of physician assistant studies, is the recipient of the Outstanding Faculty Award for Research Achievement. Schweinle, Ph.D., a member of the USD School of Health Sciences faculty since 2008, received his Ph.D. in experimental psychology from the University of Texas at Arlington. His teaching interests include Statistics and Research Methodology. A photo of Schweinle is available for download at

Katherine Jorgensen, associate professor of nursing, was honored with the Outstanding Faculty Award for Distinguished Service. Jorgensen, a member of the nursing faculty since 1993, is part of the nursing program offered on the main university campus in Vermillion. The department of nursing is also offered on four campuses across the state including Pierre, Rapid City, Sioux Falls and Watertown. A photo of Jorgensen is available for download at

Dona Kennealley, associate professor of addiction studies, and Beverly Kennedy, professor of dental hygiene, are co-recipients of the Outstanding Faculty Award for Teaching Excellence. Kennealley, Ed.D, associate professor and chair of addiction studies, has been a member of the faculty since 1979. A Certified Prevention Specialist, Kennealley teaches addiction counseling courses relating to individuals, groups, and families. A photo of Kennealley is available for download at Kennedy, R.D.H., M.A., a member of the faculty since 1975, received her B.S. in dental hygiene and her M.A. in education administration from USD. Her teaching interests include Dental Radiology, Medical-Dental Emergencies and Pharmacology. A photo of Kennedy is available for download at

“We are very proud of these faculty who represent excellence in teaching, research, and service,” stated Michael J. Lawler, dean of the School of Health Sciences.

About The University of South Dakota
Founded in 1862, The University of South Dakota is designated as the only public liberal arts university in the state and is home to a comprehensive College of Arts and Sciences, School of Education, School of Health Sciences, the state's only School of Law, School of Medicine, the accredited Beacom School of Business and the College of Fine Arts. USD has an enrollment of more than 10,000 students taught by more than 400 faculty members. More information is available at

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Peter Carrels
The University of South Dakota
(605) 216-1233
< Back to news
414 East Clark Street • Vermillion, SD 57069
605-677-5759 • 605-677-6534 fax