May 16, 2013

USD Law Professors Hutton, Garry honored with 2013 Jackson Award

VERMILLION, S.D. -- Chris Hutton and Patrick Garry were named co-recipients of the John Wesley Jackson Memorial Award for Outstanding Professor of Law at the University of South Dakota School of Law. It’s the first time in the award’s history that two professors have been honored in the same year. The award was announced during the Barristers’ Ball, an annual event of the School of Law, and at the 126th Spring Commencement ceremony earlier this month.

Hutton, who has taught at the USD Law School since 1984, also received the award in 1986 and 1999. Garry has taught at USD Law since 2004 and is a first-time recipient of the Jackson Award. Their names were among nominations made by students and colleagues at the School of Law. Both are also widely published scholars often quoted in various media in relation to their areas of law expertise and interest. 

“Professor Hutton and Professor Garry are outstanding teachers and scholars of the law,” Dean Tom Geu said. “Their contributions to the School of Law extend beyond the classroom with their service as advisers to law organizations and as teachers who will go above and beyond expectations to do what’s best and what’s right for their students.”

Hutton teaches criminal law and procedure, evidence, and advanced criminal procedure. She serves as faculty advisor to USD Law School’s Women in Law student organization and has maintained her interest in providing legal services for low income people, including by serving as a board member for Access to Justice (State Bar) and Dakota Plains Legal Service. Hutton received an A.B in History at St. Joseph’s University, J.D. degree at Washburn University, and an LL.M, degree at Harvard Law School. A photo of Hutton is available at

Garry’s teaching interests include media and First Amendment law, administrative law, advanced torts, and employment law. He received M.A., Ph.D, and J.D. degrees at the University of Minnesota. A photo of Garry is available for download at

The Jackson Award was established in 1981 through a gift by Horace and Dorothy Jackson of Rapid City, S.D., in honor of members of the Jackson family. Their selection was made by a committee and based on criteria demonstrating excellence in the teaching of law. These include effectiveness in the classroom; efforts to improve legal education in ways that serve the needs of the profession and of South Dakota; research and writing; contributions to the profession through public service; and contributions to the academic environment of the USD School of Law.

About The School of Law

The University of South Dakota School of Law provides a high-quality legal education that prepares students for leadership in the administration of justice in South Dakota and for success in private practice, public service, business and other law-related endeavors anywhere. For information about the USD School of Law, please contact Associate Dean Tom Sorensen at or (605) 677-5393.

About The University of South Dakota
Founded in 1862, The University of South Dakota is designated as the only public liberal arts university in the state and is home to a comprehensive College of Arts and Sciences, School of Education, School of Health Sciences, the state's only School of Law, School of Medicine, the accredited Beacom School of Business and the College of Fine Arts. USD has an enrollment of more than 10,000 students taught by more than 400 faculty members. More information is available at

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Peter Carrels
The University of South Dakota
(605) 216-1233
< Back to news
414 East Clark Street • Vermillion, SD 57069
605-677-5759 • 605-677-6534 fax