Sep 6, 2013

USD Department of Nursing celebrates first B.S.N. cohort with White Coat Ceremony

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The University of South Dakota Department of Nursing announces the recognition of its first Bachelor of Science in Nursing (B.S.N.) students at a White Coat Ceremony, scheduled for Monday, Sept. 16 at 1:30 p.m. in Farber Hall on USD’s campus in Vermillion and at 4:30 p.m. at the Sanford Education Center in Sioux Falls. Students will gather with their families, friends and faculty as they are awarded their first white lab coat.

The White Coat Ceremony welcomes the students to the nursing profession and represents the transition from classroom learning to clinical learning, when students begin caring for patients in various health care settings. The B.S.N. students have been admitted to the nursing clinical courses after meeting academic excellence in required coursework.

“We are pleased to recognize these students, who will one day enter the workforce prepared to practice within complex health care systems in diverse environments,” said Carla Dieter, Ed.D, F.N.P.-B.C., chair and professor of USD’s Department of Nursing. “Our B.S.N. graduates will be prepared to apply knowledge of healthcare policy, systems leadership, and evidence-based practice within interprofessional teams.”

Nursing is one of the world’s largest and fastest growing occupations. The demand for highly educated nurses, currently at an all-time high, will only continue to increase. USD’s B.S.N. program, which earned full accreditation from the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) earlier this year, consists of 120 credits that include theory, laboratory, simulation, and clinical learning experiences. Students have an opportunity to complete general education requirements and prerequisites during the first two years of the program, and nursing courses the final two years. Incoming freshman for the fall 2012 semester were able to declare the four-year B.S.N. as their degree thanks to authorization in the fall of 2011 by the South Dakota Board of Regents.

About the School of Health Sciences

USD’s School of Health Sciences has nine programs offering bachelor of science degrees in alcohol and drug studies, dental hygiene, health sciences, medical laboratory science, nursing, and social work; an associate of science degree in nursing; master of science degrees in occupational therapy and physician assistant studies; master of social work; master of arts in addiction studies; and a doctorate of physical therapy degree. For more information about USD’s School of Health Sciences, please visit or call (605) 677-5000.

About The University of South Dakota
Founded in 1862, The University of South Dakota is designated as the only public liberal arts university in the state and is home to a comprehensive College of Arts and Sciences, School of Education, School of Health Sciences, the state's only School of Law, School of Medicine, the accredited Beacom School of Business and the College of Fine Arts. USD has an enrollment of more than 10,000 students taught by more than 400 faculty members. More information is available at

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Peter Carrels
The University of South Dakota
(605) 216-1233
< Back to news
414 East Clark Street • Vermillion, SD 57069
605-677-5759 • 605-677-6534 fax