Jul 30, 2014

SD judges receive prestigious USD Women in Law honors

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The University of South Dakota Women in Law presented its 2014 Attorney of the Year award to Sixth Circuit Court Judge Kathleen Trandahl and Seventh Circuit Magistrate Judge Shawn Pahlke. The co-recipients of the award were both graduates of the University of South Dakota School of Law’s Class of 1985. They were also founding members of Women in Law.

Trandahl received her undergraduate degree from Augustana College in 1982 and her J.D. from USD in 1985. She practiced law in Winner, S.D., until she was appointed to the Circuit Court bench by Gov. Walter Dale Miller in 1994. She is the Senior Circuit Court Judge in the Sixth Circuit. She is active in many civic organizations in her community and led the effort to establish drug courts in South Dakota.

Pahlke received her undergraduate degree from Black Hills State University in 1981 and her J.D. from USD in 1985. She served as a prosecutor for the Pennington County State’s Attorney before moving into the Pennington County Public Defender’s Office where she was the first female director of the Public Defender’s Office. She began her work as a Magistrate Judge for the Seventh Circuit in 1995, only the second woman to serve in this capacity. Pahlke serves on the Unified Judicial System Training Committee and also writes ethics opinions for the Unified Judicial System. She has played an important role in the implementation of drug courts in western South Dakota and serves as one of two drug court judges for the Northern Hills Drug Court. Pahlke is the first drug court judge to serve the Seventh Circuit and is among the first in South Dakota.

The award was presented on June 19 by current USD Women in Law President Kelsey Weber at the South Dakota Women in Law social held at Face it Together in Sioux Falls, S.D. The award is given based on nominations from members of the legal community, and voted on by members of USD Women in Law.

A photo of USD Women in Law advisor and law professor Chris Hutton, Pahlke, former SD Supreme Court Justice Judith Meierhenry, SD Supreme Court Justice Lori Wilbur, Trandahl and Weber is available for download at www.usd.edu/press/news/images/releases/WIL_2014.jpg.

About The School of Law

The University of South Dakota School of Law provides a high-quality legal education that prepares students for leadership in the administration of justice in South Dakota and for success in private practice, public service, business and other law-related endeavors anywhere. For information about the USD School of Law, please contact Associate Dean Tiffany Graham at Tiffany.Graham@usd.edu or (605) 677-5393.

About The University of South Dakota
Founded in 1862, The University of South Dakota is designated as the only public liberal arts university in the state and is home to a comprehensive College of Arts and Sciences, School of Education, School of Health Sciences, the state's only School of Law, School of Medicine, the accredited Beacom School of Business and the College of Fine Arts. USD has an enrollment of more than 10,000 students taught by more than 400 faculty members. More information is available at www.usd.edu/press/news.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Peter Carrels
The University of South Dakota
(605) 216-1233
< Back to news
414 East Clark Street • Vermillion, SD 57069
605-677-5759 • 605-677-6534 fax