College of Arts & Sciences Farber Center

Faculty & Advisory Council

In addition to teaching excellence, our nationally-recognized faculty offers students the benefit of first-hand experience in national and state politics, campaigns and elections, public administration, international relations, and leadership studies. Faculty members have served as consultants to several universities around the country wanting to develop similar programs. 

Our Civic Leadership program is deliberately limited to only 20 students per year, so that faculty can provide close mentorship for each student.

Faculty


William D. Richardson, Ph.D., Chair and Professor
Political Philosophy, American Politics, Leadership, Ethics
Joined USD in 1998
Dakota Hall 101
(605) 677-5701
William.Richardson@usd.edu

Cheryl Hovorka, Program Assistant
Joined
USD in 1992
Dakota Hall 233A
(605) 677-5702
Cheryl.Hovorka@usd.edu

Richard Braunstein, Ph.D., Professor
American Politics, Constitutional Issues, Leadership
Joined
USD in 1999
Dakota 34A
(605) 677-5244
Rich.Braunstein@usd.edu

Michael Card, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Public Administration, Leadership, Business-Government Relations
Joined
USD in 1991
Dakota Hall 133
(605) 677-5748
Michael.Card@usd.edu


Matt Fairholm, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Public Administration, Leadership Studies, American Government
Joined
USD in 2002
Dakota Hall 131
(605) 677-5705
Matthew.Fairholm@usd.edu

Tim Schorn, J.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor
International Relations, Human Rights & Terrorism
Joined
USD in 1995
Dakota Hall 110
(605) 677-5707
Timothy.Schorn@usd.edu

Elizabeth Theiss Smith
, Ph.D., Associate Professor
American Politics, Public Administration, Courts, Leadership
Joined
USD in 1998
Dakota Hall 129
(605) 677-5710
Elizabeth.Smith@usd.edu

divider_blue 

Advisory Council

Dr. Terri Bellis
Communication Disorders
Noteboom Hall
l

University of South Dakota
Vermillion, SD 57069
Teri.Bellis@usd.edu
Sue Brown
W. O. Farber Center
University of South Dakota
Vermillion, SD 57069
suebrown@goldenwest.net
   
Dr. David Carr
School of Business
Patterson Hall 123D
University of South Dakota
Vermillion  SD  57069
David.Carr@usd.edu 
Andrew Christiansen
W. O. Farber Center
University of South Dakota
Vermillion, SD 57069
farbercenter@usd.edu  
   
Doyle Estes
W. O. Farber Center
University of South Dakota
Vermillion, SD 57069
farbercenter@usd.edu
Heather Fluit
W. O. Farber Center
University of South Dakota
Vermillion, SD 57069
farbercenter@usd.edu
   
Sean Flynn
W. O. Farber Center
University of South Dakota
Vermillion, SD 57069
farbercenter@usd.edu
Helen Gottsleben
W. O. Farber Center
University of South Dakota
Vermillion, SD 57069
farbercenter@usd.edu
   
Dr. Greg Huckabee
School of Business
Patterson Hall
University of South Dakota
Vermillion, SD 57069
Gregory.Huckabee@usd.edu
Yvonne Taylor
Executive Director
South Dakota Municipal League
214 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre  SD  57501
yvonne@sdmunicipalleague.org