Skip to main content


The University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine was awarded the 2017 Spencer Foreman Award for Outstanding Community Service. Presented on November 5, 2017 by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) at its annual meeting in Boston, Massachusetts, the award recognizes successes and efforts by the USD Sanford School of Medicine in partnership with communities to serve the health care needs of rural citizens in South Dakota, including those living in or near small towns and on Native American reservations.

The award recognizes both the medical school and its valued partners in communities throughout the state of South Dakota. It is widely considered the top honor a school of medicine can receive from the AAMC, the organization that represents all 147 medical schools in the United States.

Read More