Students named to U. News spring semester news team

VERMILLION, S.D. -- Twenty-two students from The University of South Dakota have been named to the U. News Radio and TV team for the 2011 spring semester.

U. News is an opportunity for students to gain professional, ethical and leadership experience while creating informational and entertainment programming for a weekly audience. U. News positions are open to any full-time student regardless of major. U. News advisor is Michelle Van Maanen, Ed.D, chair of the USD Department of Contemporary Media and Journalism. Todd Mechling, a CMJ instructor at The U, is advisor for KYOT-TV.

Students are tasked with a variety of responsibilities for U. News Radio and TV, including behind-the-scenes roles and on-air talent. Live broadcasts for U. News Radio on FM 91.1 begin at noon on Wednesday, Jan. 26 while U. News TV airs with a 5 p.m. broadcast on Jan. 26 on KYOT, channel 21, in Vermillion and many surrounding communities. For more information, please visit

U. News Radio

News director: Cassie Bartlett of Sioux Falls, S.D.

News anchors: Kristin Aanenson of Lennox, S.D., Gabriel Mambo and Lana McCoy of Sioux Falls, and London Sims of Maynard, Minn.

U. News TV

Producers: Travis Berg of Huron, S.D. and Jarrod Tell of Mason City, Iowa

Assignment editor: Teresa Johnson of Sioux Falls

Web editor: Brianna Clark of St. Paul, Minn.

Sports director: Sarah Wheeler of Duluth, Minn.

News anchors: Brianna Clark and Teresa Johnson

Sports anchors: Hailie Meyer of Onalaska, Wis., and Jerry Palleschi of Sioux Falls

Live correspondent: Lorena Reichert of Rapid City, S.D.

U. Blog: Kevin Lahood Burns of Black Hawk, S.D.

Sports commentary: Kyle Miller of Algona, Iowa

The Yote Report: Lauren Hauck of Sioux Falls and Taylor Moore of Milwaukee, Wis.

U. Commentary: Angelica Brackins of Rapid City

U. Commentary producer: Paul Ebsen of Sioux City, Iowa

U. Commentary production assistant: Alyssa Smith of Sioux Falls