USD recognizes faculty with Presidents Research Awards

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The University of South Dakota recognized three faculty members for outstanding research. The researchers were awarded grants in three categories, including the President’s Awards for Research Excellence for Early-Mid Career Faculty; President’s Award for Research Excellence: Established Faculty and the President’s Award for Research Innovation & Entrepreneurship. Recipients were selected through a highly competitive process with both university and external reviewers. The selections are a strong endorsement of each researcher’s creativity and innovation, and an honor for the university to bestow.

This year, the researchers receiving the prestigious awards include:

  • President’s Award for Research Excellence: Early-Mid Career Faculty
    Jacob Kerby, Ph.D., Assistant Professor in the Department of Biology
  • President’s Award for Research Excellence: Established Faculty
    Patrick Garry, Ph.D., Professor in the School of Law
  • President’s Award for Research Innovation & Entrepreneurship
    Young Ae Kim, Assistant Professor in the College of Fine Arts

In each category, candidates were reviewed based on past and current research aptitudes, including criteria such as publications, presentations, successful grantsmanship, serving as a peer reviewer, maintenance of an active graduate and/or undergraduate program, and other competitive research awards. The Innovation & Entrepreneurship award further required a demonstrated innovative thinking or research findings that had promising commercial potential as well as a concept that had progressed beyond the theoretical stage to the applied stage.

“The talented applicants are indicative of the research culture here at USD,” said Laura Jenski, Ph.D., vice president for research at USD. “Although difficult to choose just one recipient for each award, the faculty chosen are very deserving, and we are honored to present them with their respective awards.”

Each award recipient receives a $3,000 grant and a plaque. The President’s Awards for Research Excellence for Early-Mid Career Faculty and Established Faculty, and the President’s Award for Research Innovation & Entrepreneurship are awarded annually and open to USD research faculty in each of the three categories.

Photographs of the three recipients are available at:;;


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 205 undergraduate and 73 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 17:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 17 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Michelle Cwach
USD News