Skip to main content

U Discover Research Scholar Program announces 2012 participants

VERMILLION, S.D. -- Thirteen students from the University of South Dakota were recently selected to participate in the U. Discover Research Scholar Program this summer.

The U. Discover Summer Research Scholar Program is a project of the Council for Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity. Students apply to the program and undergo a competitive selection process. The program is designed to give undergraduate students in any academic field experience in conducting a scholarly research project under the guidance of a faculty mentor. Selected students participate as a group in bi-weekly lunch hour presentations on various topics related to conducting research activities and learn from their peers about research in different disciplines.

Research scholars are required to maintain a journal about the process of conducting their research. In addition, scholars will present their project at the South Dakota Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network poster session at the Sanford School of Medicine and IdeaFest 2013.

Summer 2012 undergraduate participants, their faculty sponsors and disciplines include: Adrian Ries of Elk Point, S.D., and Dr. John Koster (Music Performance—Piano); Christine Rinehart of Tea, S.D., and Dr. Elizabeth Moore (Biology and Mathematics); Collin Michels of Yankton, S.D. and Dr. Brian Hensel (Biology and Spanish); Daniel Davies of Vermillion and Dr. Gina Forster (Biology and History); Hanna McElroy of Sioux City, Iowa, and Dr. Sandy McKeown (Political Science and Criminal Justice); Jennifer Dumdie of Selby, S.D. and Dr. Jose Flores (Biology and Mathematics); Jordana Lamb of Vienna, S.D. and Dr. Hugh Britten (Biology and Psychology); Kaitlin Branick of Sioux Falls, S.D. and Dr. Khosrow Rezvani (Biology and Chemistry); Marcus Tjeerdsma of Tyndall, S.D. and Dr. J. Scott Pattison (Biology); Nate Buchholz of Monroe, S.D. and Dr. Cory Knedler (Studio Art); Stephen Bollinger of Pierre, S.D. and Dr. Evelyn Schlenker (Chemistry and Psychology); Thomas Bickett of Rapid City, S.D. and Dr. Victor Huber (Biology); Trevor Watson of Sioux Falls, S.D. and Dr. Victor Huber (Biology and Spanish)


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 78 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Hanna DeLange
USD News