Skip to main content

Two USD Students Earn Goldwater Scholarships

Image Slunecka and Fostvedt USD students John Slunecka and Jade Fostvedt, recipients of national Goldwater scholarships.

VERMILLION, S.D. -- Two science students from the University of South Dakota are among four South Dakotans and just 252 nationwide to receive Goldwater scholarships for next year.

Jade Fostvedt, a senior from Vermillion, is majoring in chemistry (American Chemical Society certified degree) and minoring in mathematics. Her career goal is to obtain a doctorate in inorganic chemistry and conduct research in alternative energy and catalysis, teach at a university level and lead a research team comprised of both graduate and undergraduate students.

John Slunecka, a senior from Sioux Falls, South Dakota, is majoring in medical biology and chemistry. His career goal is to obtain a dual M.D./Ph.D. degree in biochemistry and conduct research on protein structures and their effects on macroscopic functions of organisms with a focus on the human species, especially as it applies to diseases.

The scholars were selected on the basis of academic merit from a field of 1,150 students who were nominated by the representatives of 415 colleges and universities nationwide; 144 are men and 108 are women. The scholarships will cover the cost of tuition, fees, books, and room and board up to $7,500 per year.

Congress established the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program in 1986 to honor Sen. Barry Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years in the U.S. Senate. The purpose of the foundation is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue research careers in these fields.


USD's College of Arts & Sciences offers students a top-notch undergraduate liberal arts education in the humanities, social sciences and sciences as well as graduate programs that have earned USD distinction as a research university by the Carnegie Foundation. The college's more than 22,000 alumni include famous journalists, Hollywood screenwriters, novelists, a Nobel Prize winner, South Dakota governors, attorneys, physicians, justices of the state Supreme Court, distinguished university faculty and international humanitarians.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News