Skip to main content

USD Hosts Annual Haines Lecture

VERMILLION, S.D. – Steven A. Soper, Ph.D., the Foundation Distinguished Professor at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, will present the 62nd Haines Lecture at the University of South Dakota at 6 p.m. on April 9 in Churchill-Haines 118.

Soper received his Ph.D. degree from the University of Kansas and followed with a Postdoctoral Fellowship at Los Alamos National Laboratory. In 1991, he joined the Department of Chemistry at Louisiana State University where he was the William H. Pryor Distinguished Chair of Chemistry. While at LSU, he founded the Center of BioModular Multi-Scale Systems for Precision Medicine, which has as its primary charge to develop enabling and transformative tools for making health-related measurements from rare disease markers, such as liquid biopsy markers, with full process automation.

Soper returned to KU in 2016 as part of the Foundation Distinguished Professor initiative, a unique partnership between the university and the state of Kansas to attract 12 eminent scholars to support one or more of the university’s strategic initiative themes. Soper is the 10th Foundation Professor named to date.

The Haines Lecture is sponsored by the USD Department of Chemistry and the Dr. Charles R. Estee Fund. The Haines Lecture was established in 1956 in honor of Arthur Lee Haines, a member of the USD Department of Chemistry for 71 years.


USD's College of Arts & Sciences offers students a top-notch undergraduate liberal arts education in the humanities, social sciences and sciences as well as graduate programs that have earned USD distinction as a research university by the Carnegie Foundation. The college's more than 22,000 alumni include famous journalists, Hollywood screenwriters, novelists, a Nobel Prize winner, South Dakota governors, attorneys, physicians, justices of the state Supreme Court, distinguished university faculty and international humanitarians.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News