Scholarship Recipients

The Department of Chemistry annually awards over $20,000 in scholarships and awards to about 30 undergraduate students. This is a testament to the generosity of our alumni and friends of the department.

Scholarship & Award Descriptions

Robert A. Ackerman Scholarship

This scholarship's recipients must be in their second, third or fourth year at and pursuing a degree in chemistry.

ACS Analytical Division Award

The Analytical Division of the American Chemical Society gives an award to an undergraduate chemistry student who shows outstanding potential in analytical chemistry. The award consists of an 8-month subscription to the journal, Analytical Chemistry and an honorary membership in the Division of Analytical Chemistry of the ACS. The award is presented to a junior chemistry major based on his or her performance in Analytical Chemistry (CHEM 332) and overall academic performance.

ACS Organic Chemistry Achievement Award

The Division of Polymer Chemistry ACS Award is given to a sophomore or junior student who has completed or will complete the second semester of organic chemistry during the current academic year. The recipient must be a chemistry major with an overall grade point average of at least 3.4, achievement of grades of A in each semester of organic chemistry and must rank in the top 10 percent of the class each semester.

American Institute of Chemists Award

This award is given to honor an outstanding senior majoring in chemistry, usually an ACS-certified major who plans to pursue a career in chemistry. The award is given in recognition of potential advancement of the chemical profession on the basis of the student's demonstrated record of leadership, ability, character, and scholastic achievement. In addition to a one-year free student associate membership in the AIC, the student receives a certificate bearing his/her name.

The Selma Elizabeth Anderson Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is intended for USD students who are chemistry majors and plan to attend medical school. Recipients must have scholastic achievement and display honesty, interest in others and a willingness to work.

Thomas Beukelman Memorial Scholarship

The Thomas Beukelman Memorial Scholarship is given to a student majoring in chemistry.

CRC Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award

The CRC Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award is given to a top student in the freshman chemistry program. The award consists of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics with a commemorative scroll mounted on the inside front cover.

John Bryant Dunlap Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to chemistry majors at USD who are planning to enter a a chemistry-related field following graduation.

Josephine & William Flevares Memorial Foundation Freshman Scholarship

The Josephine and William Flevares Memorial Foundation Freshman Scholarship is an endowed fund established by Constatine Flevares, Ph.D. (USD 1957-1959), in honor of his parents. The earnings from the Flevares Scholarship Endowment are used to support scholarships awarded to incoming freshmen who have an ACT of 26 or higher and who rank in the top 15 percent of their high school graduating class. One scholarship is awarded each year to an incoming freshman who plans to major in chemistry and one to a pre-medicine major. The Director of Admissions and Financial Aid is responsible for selecting the recipients.

Arthur Lee Haines Scholarship

Sophomores, juniors and seniors majoring in chemistry are eligible for this scholarship. Consideration will be given to students in the USD Scholars program.

Harrington Book Award

The Harrington Book Award is given to an outstanding senior chemistry major who has distinguished himself or herself in service to the university and the Department of Chemistry.

Helmer A. Hovik Scholarship

The Helmer A. Hovik USD Scholarship Fund offers a $500 scholarship to a full-time USD chemistry major who has completed at least two years of academic study. Selection is based on character and personal integrity, financial need, demonstrated motivation to complete the chemistry degree and other factors. Grade point average is used to choose between two or more equally qualified candidates.

Merck Index Award

The Merck Index Award is given to an outstanding chemistry major in his or her senior year. Selection is based on scholastic achievement, as well as other qualities that the department may determine. The award is usually given to a graduating senior who plans to go to medical school and consists of the latest edition of the Merck Index with the student's name imprinted in gold on the cover.

Merit Awards

Merit Awards are given to recognize chemistry majors with outstanding academic records (usually GPA greater than 3.0) who are not selected for the other awards.

Norman E. Miller Achievement Scholarship

An annual $1500 Achievement Coyote Commitment scholarship is given to a student, preferably a chemistry major from Menno.

General Lloyd R. Moses Research Awards

This endowed fund was established in 1996 by Major General Lloyd R. Moses, U.S. Army Ret., to fund undergraduate research stipends and scholarships within the Chemistry Department. The recipients perform research with chemistry faculty members during the summer months.

Joseph F. & Martha P. Nelson Scholarship

The Joseph and Martha Nelson Scholarship was established in 1995 upon the death of Joseph Nelson, Ph.D., who earned his Master's degree in Chemistry from USD in 1933. The scholarship is given to a chemistry major finishing the sophomore or junior year who is of good moral character and is in the upper one-fourth of his/her class and/or maintains a GPA of 3.0 or higher.

The Arthur M. and John M. Pardee Prize

The Pardee Prize is given to a senior chemistry major who has shown outstanding interest and professional development in chemistry through contributions of time and efforts to the Department of Chemistry.

Joseph R. Spies Chemistry Scholarship

This annual scholarship is awarded to junior and senior chemistry majors at USD who demonstratedacademic achievement and financial need.

M.R. Stoner Scholarship

One $3,000 Veritas Coyote Commitment scholarship and one $1,750 Distinction Coyote Commitment scholarship are given to undergraduate students, with preference given to a chemistry major.

Robert Stoner Scholarship

This scholarship, given in honor of organic chemistry professor Robert Stoner, Ph.D., is for undergraduate chemistry majors at USD.

Contact Us

For departmental scholarships or awards questions contact:

Name Department & Office Contact
Joe Vitt
  • Associate Professor
Churchill-Haines Labs 115