A large variety of scholarships are available to students through the Computer Science Department through several grants and the generous donations of former students and faculty. These scholarships as well as several other awards are presented every year at the Computer Science Awards Banquet.

Marjorie H. Beaty Math/Computer Science Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to students who are majoring in math or computer science, and have high academic qualities and some financial need. The recipient may be a graduate or undergraduate student and must be a South Dakota resident.

Amy Fix Scholarship (available to junior computer science majors)

This fund was established in February, 1991 by a gift from Vikki Fix and Dean Spader in memory of Vikki's sister, Amy. The scholarship honors Amy's nurturing qualities and friendly disposition. Interest from this endowed account is used to encourage women majoring in computer science. Scholarships are awarded to one or two computer science majors finishing their junior year. Academic achievement is the main criterion with preference given to women.

Graduate Fellowship

To qualify for the graduate fellowship you must be a new graduate student with a 3.25 GPA on the last 60 hours of your undergraduate coursework. Deadlines are May 1 for fall semester and November 1 for spring semester. 

Apply Now

Marjorie C. J. Lifto Amundson Scholarship

The Marjorie C. J. Lifto Amundson Scholarship was established in 1999 by a gift from Lorn H. Amundson, Ph.D., in honor of his mother, Margorie C. J. Lifto Amundson. Marjorie was inducted into Beta Kappa in 1928 and graduated from USD in 1929 with a major in mathematics. The scholarship is awarded annually to computer science majors who have sophomore or junior standing and who have either a minor or double major in mathematics. Recipients are selected based on academic achievement.

John A. Lushbough Scholarship

The John A. Lushbough Scholarship is named in honor of the first chair of the Computer Science Department. John served as chair from 1984 until retirement in 2004. This scholarship was renamed to honor his more than 20 years of inspired leadership, dedication to rigorous academic standards, innovation and excellence in teaching and service well beyond what is reasonable to expect.

This award was originally established in 1985 through the generosity of former computer science graduates and computer science faculty members. The scholarship is given to students who have shown outstanding potential for future professional careers in computer science.

Smart Software Solutions Scholarship

The Smart Software Solutions Scholarship was established for students who are or will be computer science majors. Preference will be given to prospective students who have competed in a high school computer programming contest. Financial need and academic merit shall be taken into consideration. Preference will be given to outstanding students who are not recipients of other scholarships.

Warner Scholarship

The Warner Family Scholarship was established in 1998 by a gift from Mervin B. Warner. The scholarship was given as a memorial to Mervin C. and Bertha E. Warner and Gerald E. Warner, parents and brother of the donor. The Warner family has long standing ties to Vermillion and USD. The scholarship is awarded annually to the computer science major who has most clearly displayed a sense of community service and a desire to help others and who appears to have a life-long commitment to such activity.

Freshman Scholarships

For freshman scholarships see Financial Aid.