Joseph F. and Martha P. Nelson Scholarship

Available to Earth sciences majors.

Bruno C. Petsch Honorarium

Available to Earth sciences majors, requires service to the program.

This endowed honorarium was established in 1980 by Martin and Laila G. Gentry in memory of Bruno C. Petsch for his long and faithful service in the field of geology. Petsch was a geologist at the South Dakota Geological Survey from 1942 to 1982. He received his B.A. degree in geology in 1925 from USD.

The scholarship is awarded to students who have an interest in the Earth sciences, possess leadership ability, show interest in scholarly pursuit and are enrolled in upper division courses in Earth sciences or possess a baccalaureate degree in geology or Earth sciences. The student must perform services for the department in support of teaching and/or research. This honorarium may be awarded more than once to the same student. The dean of the College of Arts & Sciences and two members of the Earth sciences faculty will select the recipient(s).

E.P. Rothrock Scholarship

Available to upper-level Earth sciences majors.

This endowed scholarship was established in 1957 by friends, colleagues and former students of Edgar P. Rothrock. Rothrock was a geology professor at USD and State Geologist from 1926 to 1957. He received his Ph.D. at the University of Chicago. The geology library in the department is named after him.

The scholarship is awarded to students majoring in Earth sciences and having demonstrated superior scholastic abilities in this field. The chair or director of the Earth sciences program and/or faculty they select will determine the number of recipients and the monetary value of the scholarship.

Freshman Scholarships

For freshman scholarships see Financial Aid.

For more information about any of these scholarships, email