USD honors students for extraordinary leadership service

VERMILLION, S.D. -- More than two dozen students were honored for their extraordinary leadership during the 19th annual Leadership Recognition Awards Reception at The University of South Dakota.

Sponsored by the Student Activities Center, this reception paid tribute to 25 students that were nominated by their peers, faculty and staff. Awards were determined by a committee of members from The U faculty, along with staff and students. Clayton Lehmann, Ph.D., USD history professor, was the keynote speaker for the event. All students, undergraduate or graduate, were eligible for nomination, which included 25 recipients in 10 categories.

Dominique Bodreau of Yankton, S.D., received the New Student Leader Award, which is presented to a first-year student who has become involved in campus or community activities. Anne Rosenbaum of Jefferson, S.D., was awarded the Service Learning Advocate Award, presented annually to a student who has exemplified leadership in the doctrine of service-learning. Jacquie Lonning of Vermillion, S.D., was presented with the Outstanding Advisor Award, which is given to an advisor of a student organization who has excelled in all duties. The Community Spirit Award, awarded to a student whose work demonstrates a compassion for others through efforts in community service on a local, national or global level, went to Miranda Tracy of Pierre, S.D., while Ashley Lilleholm of Sioux Falls, S.D., Bre Henrichsen of Hermosa, S.D., and Matthew Heller of Armour, S.D., were each awarded the Unsung Leader Award, which is presented to three students that have participated in campus or community organizations without receiving – nor seeking – deserved recognition. Hillary Paul of Seaback, Wash. , Donielle Gustafson of Pierre, S.D., and Allison Struck of Yankton, S.D., were presented with the Outstanding Leadership and Service Award, presented each year to three students for demonstrating outstanding leadership and service by participating in one of more leadership positions and by making a significant contribution to campus or community life. Madison Oslund of Rapid City, S.D., was honored with the Graduate Student Leadership Award for demonstrating outstanding leadership and enrichment of campus life at The U; and Mandy Ellefson of Garretson, S.D., was this year’s recipient of the Dave Lorenz Senior Leadership Award. Named in honor of Dave Lorenz, former Dean of Students at The U, this award is presented annually to a graduating senior who has enriched campus life throughout his or her tenure at USD.

Three Board of Regents Leadership awards were also distributed to student organizations. Veterans Club was the recipient of the Community Service Award, which recognizes student organizations for community service external to the campus; The Entrepreneurship Team received the Organizational Leadership Award for outstanding activities that provide effective student or community leadership; and The Political Science League received the Academic Excellence Award for outstanding contributions to the academic environment at their university or to the academic performance of students.

Twenty-seven students also received Who's Who Among Students recognition, a national program that honors scholastic achievement. They were Nicholas Amundson of Johnston, Iowa, Jennifer Bellis of Vermillion, S.D., Katie Divine of Raymond, Neb.,  Megan Gebaur of Rapid City, S.D., Jane Gullickson of Brandon, S.D., Katie Heydon of Coon Rapids, S.D., Becky Larsen of Yankton, S.D., Shiloh McGruder of Highmore, S.D., Laura Beall of Scotland, S.D., Morgan Catlett of Rapid City, S.D., Andy Fick of Quimby, Iowa, Victoria Georgiana of Shelton, Neb., Bryce Hagerty of Spearfish, S.D., Chelsey Johnson of Watertown, S.D., Erin Lepp of Sioux Falls, S.D., Anine Miller of Harrisburg, S.D., Lee Smith of Norfolk, Neb., John Becker of Woodward, Iowa, Nick Cox of Elk Point, S.D., Judy Freking of Ashton, Iowa, Laura Grayson of Tea, S.D., Matthew Heiman of Presho, S.D., Keegan Kellogg of Rapid City, S.D., Brian Mann of Sioux Falls, S.D., Jonathan Rarrat, of Jefferson, S.D., Taylor Wagner of Redfield, S.D., and Kelly Schulte of Korea.