Scripps Spelling Bee winners

We are proud to sponsor the Scripps Spelling Bee for the state of South Dakota. Schools enrolled in the Scripps Spelling Bee program send three contestants to their assigned regional spelling bee. Regional spelling bees are held in Mitchell, Rapid City, Sioux Falls, Vermillion and Watertown. The top three contestants from each regional advance to the USD Scripps Spelling bee in Vermillion where the state's best spellers compete at USD to determine who will represent the state at the Scripps National Spelling Bee in Washington, D.C.

Important Dates

  • Enrollment begins August 22, 2017
  • Five regional spelling bees conducted early 2018
  • University of South Dakota Scripps Spelling Bee, March 17, 2018
  • Scripps National Spelling Bee, Washington, D.C., May 28-June 1, 2018


  • Teachers and administrators can enroll their schools through the Scripps National Spelling Bee website
  • Early Bird Enrollment is available August 22 - October 16, 2017
    • Schools/home school associations enrollment fee: $151
    • Home school family enrollment fee: $105
  • Late Enrollment available October 17 - December 15, 2017
    • Schools/home school associations late enrollment fee: $226
    • Home school family late enrollment fee: $180

Contact Information

Cheryl Havermann, 605-658-6212 or by email at

Past State Champions

  • 2012 - Maria Bragar- Henebry, Garretson, S.D. (Greater Sioux Falls Home School Assoc.)
  • 2013 - Max Oesterling, Custer, S.D. (SD Christian Home Education Assoc.)
  • 2014 - Antonio Lansang, Brookings, S.D. (George S. Mickelson Middle School)
  • 2015 - Owen Dudley, Vermillion, S.D. (Vermillion Middle School)
  • 2016 - Logan Gregg, Vermillion, S.D. (Vermillion Middle School)
  • 2017 - Nana Addo, Dakota Dunes, S.D. (Dakota Valley Jr. High School)