Skip to main content

Matthew Moen

Distinguished Professor Emeritus


Dr. Matthew C. Moen was named USD Distinguished Professor Emeritus in 2017. From 2002-2017, he served as dean of the College of Arts & Sciences, Lohre Distinguished Professor, and Professor of Political Science at USD; from 1986-2002, he was chair and professor of political science, along with UMaine System Trustee Professor at the University of Maine. Over the years, he served in many disciplinary leadership roles, such as president, New England Political Science Association; chair, Professional Ethics Committee of APSA; chair, Religion and Politics Division of APSA (twice); section chair for the Northeastern and the New England Political Science Association annual meetings; and, as member of the APSA Task Force on Interdisciplinarity. Other notable professional service roles included president of the Council of College of Arts & Sciences (CCAS) and chair of the South Dakota Humanities Council (appointed by SD Governor Dennis Daugaard). Author/co-author of six scholarly books and dozens of articles, Moen obtained his Ph.D. through the Carl Albert Congressional Research and Studies Center at the University of Oklahoma. He served as a congressional fellow in the U.S. House of Representatives.