Founded in 1862 on the banks of the Missouri River in Vermillion, South Dakota, the University of South Dakota is the state’s flagship institution and its designated liberal arts university.

As the largest employer in Vermillion, USD plays a critical role as an economic driver and generates $786 million in annual economic impact to the state. USD is home to the state’s only medical and law schools as well as the state’s first and longest-standing College of Fine Arts. It also houses the Beacom School of Business, School of Education, College of Arts & Sciences, School of Health Sciences and the state’s largest Graduate School. For more than 150 years USD has produced the state’s leaders, thinkers, politicians, judges, medical professionals and entrepreneurs.

view presidential leadership profile

In the News

Regents Salute President Abbott Upon Retirement Announcement

Campus and Community to Assist in the University of South Dakota Presidential Search