Nate Welch, president and CEO of the Vermillion Area Chamber and Development Company, was awarded the 2021 Honoree position.

“It is an honor to be inducted as an Honorary Chapter Member to the Beta Gamma Sigma Business Honor Society,” said Welch. “USD has incredibly dedicated students at the Beacom School of Business, and to receive this distinction beside them is a really neat thing.”

Beta Gamma Sigma is the scholastic honor society dedicated to principles and ideals essential to a worthy life as well as to a commendable business career. The organization recognizes academic excellence in business studies only at schools that are accredited by the Association for the Advancement of Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) International. Students who are inducted are considered lifetime members. More than 800,000 individuals have been inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma since 1913.

The following students were inducted into the Beacom School of Business chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma at USD during the spring 2021 semester:


  • Aaron Boese
  • Shane Deighton
  • Craig Dewey
  • Benjamin Lamfers
  • Joseph Mehlhalf
  • Anna Myrome
  • Caitlin Olson
  • Matthew Pearce
  • Nicholas Rovang
  • Cayla Sadler
  • Joel Van Heukelom


  • Taylor Andersen
  • Lucas Bunkers
  • Alyssa Fick
  • Kelsey Frost
  • Claire Gerdes
  • Taite Heinz
  • Alex Jensen
  • Trent Kingsbury
  • Laura Knutson
  • Emily Kraemer
  • Erin Kueter
  • Nicholas Lubbers
  • Ryan Metzger
  • Skylar Polzine
  • Guthrie Scoblic


  • Hermala Abraham
  • Conner Chamberlain
  • Charles Harberts
  • Laerke Jensen
  • Bruno Lee
  • Alice Lunardelli
  • Andrew Malaterre
  • Saige Ochsendorf
  • Kate Solberg


  • Maria Leach, D.B.A., associate professor
  • Carole South-Winter, Ed.D., associate professor
  • Thomas Tiahrt, Ph.D., Economics & Decisions Sciences chair and associate professor


  • Nate Welch, president and CEO, Vermillion Area Chamber and Development Company
Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website