The MOU involves the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University, and Dakota State University and will go into effect once signed by the university presidents and Paul B. Beran, the regents’ executive director and CEO.

The new MOU outlines that governance will be shared by the three participating institutions, but final decisions regarding scheduling, budget, and oversight lie with USD as the lead institution.

The MOU allows USD to create a new college within its academic structure that will focus on innovation and workforce development. SDSU and DSU will continue to offer complementary course offerings that showcase the unique strengths of those institutions, including programs such as cybersecurity, nursing, web development, and healthcare coding.

“This new structure will ensure responsive, decisive leadership and will create an environment for collaboration and success in Sioux Falls,” Beran said. “At the same time, it will allow Sioux Falls to identify as a public university community. We are very excited about this new direction and its great potential to better serve our Sioux Falls community.”

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website