The search for the new vice president for Health Affairs/Sanford School of Medicine dean started in January 2019, when Dr. Mary Nettleman announced that she would be retiring in the summer of 2020.

Finalists include:

  • Tim Ridgway, executive dean & dean of Faculty Affairs; professor; Department of Internal Medicine; University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine
  • Aron Sousa, interim dean; College of Human Medicine; professor of medicine; Division of General Internal Medicine; Michigan State University
  • Paula Termuhlen, regional campus dean; professor of surgery; University of Minnesota Medical School; Duluth Campus

Campus interviews, respecting COVID-19 restrictions, will take place between mid-May and mid-June.

Search committee chair and USD Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Kurt Hackemer said that the USD Sanford School of Medicine and the School of Health Sciences are well-positioned to continue to be successful as the best value medical and health sciences schools in the country with strong partnerships with local, regional, national and international health organizations.

“We thank Dr. Nettleman for her progressive leadership and many positive contributions during her tenure, and we are excited to continue the positive momentum in the coming years,” said Hackemer. “We are confident our next dean will help elevate our medical school and health sciences areas as national leaders that prepare students for a lifelong career in medicine.”

View the Finalists' Biographies and CVs

Download a High-Resolution Photo of Ridgway

Download a High-Resolution Photo of Sousa

Download a High-Resolution Photo of Termuhlen

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website