Soper received his Ph.D. degree from the University of Kansas and followed with a Postdoctoral Fellowship at Los Alamos National Laboratory. In 1991, he joined the Department of Chemistry at Louisiana State University where he was the William H. Pryor Distinguished Chair of Chemistry. While at LSU, he founded the Center of BioModular Multi-Scale Systems for Precision Medicine, which has as its primary charge to develop enabling and transformative tools for making health-related measurements from rare disease markers, such as liquid biopsy markers, with full process automation.

Soper returned to KU in 2016 as part of the Foundation Distinguished Professor initiative, a unique partnership between the university and the state of Kansas to attract 12 eminent scholars to support one or more of the university’s strategic initiative themes. Soper is the 10th Foundation Professor named to date.

The Haines Lecture is sponsored by the USD Department of Chemistry and the Dr. Charles R. Estee Fund. The Haines Lecture was established in 1956 in honor of Arthur Lee Haines, a member of the USD Department of Chemistry for 71 years.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website