“It is always nice to test your mettle against other schools in your region,” said Bijan Bewley, a third-year law student and president of the Moot Court Board. "Both teams showed true grit in Minneapolis and continued to build on the excellence the Board has displayed this semester.”

Two teams comprised of law students Bijan Bewley, Tom Schartz, Tierney Scoblic, Conor Casey, Aspen Bechen and Morgan Erickson attended the three-day tournament at the University of Minnesota School of Law. The team of Conor Casey, Aspen Bechen, and Morgan Erickson reached the quarter-final round of the competition.

Erickson also took home the award for best oral advocate.

“Winning best oral advocate is truly a special achievement. The best oral advocate award is given to the person who not only demonstrates mastery of the legal subject at hand but mastery of the ability to succinctly deliver that material as well. Morgan bested nearly 40 other advocates from 13 other schools to win the award and the board is extremely proud of her accomplishment,” said Bewley.

The South Dakota Moot Court Board practices appellate brief writing and oral advocacy by competing in tournaments all over the country. The board will continue competitions in the spring.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email usdnews@usd.edu
Contact Website website