The conference showcases a roster of award-winning authors, as well as a series of creative and critical panels comprised of writers and scholars from across the nation.

"The Milton Committee and English Department are excited to have such outstanding authors and artists presenting work at the 2018 Milton Writers' Conference,” said Leah McCormack, assistant professor of creative writing in the USD Department of English.

“From comics artist Ellen Forney's talk on her New York Times bestselling graphic memoir ‘Marbles’ and its companion book ‘Rock Steady’ and Abby Bischoff's photography exhibit, to readings by great American novelist and author of nearly 30 books Percival Everett, as well as award-winning authors Erika T. Wurth and Karen Salyer McElmurray, this year's conference is sure to appeal to a wide array of attendees," McCormack said.

The biennial John R. Milton Writers' Conference was established in 1998 to celebrate the life and work of USD English professor and South Dakota Review founder John R. Milton. The conference pays tribute to Milton's lifelong engagement with and commitment to Western writers and literature. This unique conference celebrates both regional and national literary culture.

Support for the 2018 John R. Milton Writers' Conference is provided by grants from the South Dakota Humanities Council, an affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities, and funds from the State of South Dakota, through the Department of Tourism and the National Endowment for the Arts.

For more information, see


Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website