Image of the President's Executive Leadership Institute logo

Through this unique professional development opportunity for campus-based administrators and leaders, program fellows will learn about issues facing higher education broadly and the University of South Dakota specifically.

President Sheila K. Gestring supports this program as an opportunity to develop future university leaders, foster interdisciplinary collaborations and cultivate a strong connection to the campus community.

Inaugural Cohort 

  • Laura Anderton (Director, Sorority & Fraternity Life)
  • Lee Baugh (Associate Professor, Basic Biomedical Sciences)
  • Todd Cranson (Assistant Professor, Music)
  • Marisa Cummings (Director, Native Student Services)
  • Michelle Cwach (Assistant Vice President, Marketing Communications & University Relations)
  • Kelly Everding (Director, Custodial Services)
  • Darlene Farabee (Chair, English)
  • Daniel Hajovsky (Assistant Professor, Counseling & Psychology in Education)
  • Carly Heard (Director, Beacom School of Business Student Services)
  • Angela Helmer (Chair, Modern Languages & Linguistics)
  • Meghann Jarchow (Chair, Sustainability)
  • Denyelle Kenyon (Associate Dean, Sanford School of Medicine Diversity & Inclusion, Director of Master of Public Health Program)
  • Jessica Messersmith (Chair, Communication Disorders)
  • Doug Peterson (Associate Professor, Psychology)
  • Jessica Preister (Assistant Vice President, Finance)
  • Carla Reihe (Manager of Business Relationships, Enrollment Processing Center)
  • Megan Taylor (Director, Upward Bound)
  • Doug Wagner (Director, Muenster University Center)
  • Virginija Wilcox (Director, Center for Academic and Global Engagement) 

Program Launch

Executive Leadership Retreat
Aug. 13-15
Broom Tree Retreat Center
Irene, South Dakota