Skip to main content

Amy Schweinle

The University of South Dakota School of Education is proud to welcome Amy Schweinle, Ph.D., as the new interim dean of the school. Schweinle has served the university for 16 years, acting as professor and associate dean of research and graduate education in the School of Education, as well as chair of the Division of Counseling and Psychology in Education.

Schweinle holds a B.A. in psychology from Midwestern State University and an M.S. and Ph.D. in experimental psychology from The University of Texas at Arlington. In 2008 Schweinle received the Belbas-Larson Award for Excellence in Teaching, which is the highest honor USD bestows upon its educators. She has contributed to the school's efforts to secure grants from the Bush Foundation, the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Health and Human Services, and the American Psychological Society. Her research has been published in notable journals such as Educational Psychology and Child Development, and her work has been shared with policymakers in South Dakota and at conferences such as the American Psychological Association Convention.

"Serving the University of South Dakota School of Education has been an incredibly rewarding experience," Schweinle said. "In the past few years, our teacher residency program has received national attention for its yearlong residency model, our graduate programs have been recognized by U.S. News & World Report, our faculty have secured positions on renowned review boards, and our research has impacted policy and education across the country. I am proud to lead the school in a time of great progress and continue supporting such dedicated faculty, staff and students as we prioritize student success, research and alumni engagement."

Name Department & Office Contact
Amy Schweinle
  • Dean, Professor of Educational Evaluation and Research
Delzell Education Center 102
Robin Wiebers
  • Associate Dean
Delzell Education Center 113C
Karen Kindle
  • Director of Center for Student and Professional Services & Director of Teacher Residency Program
Delzell Education Center 113C
Robin Ammon
  • Division Chair, Kinesiology and Sport Management
Garreth Zalud
  • Division Chair, Curriculum & Instruction
Delzell Education Center 123
David De Jong
  • Division Chair of Educational Leadership
Delzell Education Center 214C
Daniel Mourlam
  • Division Chair of Teacher Residency & Education
Delzell Education Center 115B