Skip to main content

American Occupational Therapy Foundation (AOTF)

The American Occupational Therapy Foundation (AOTF) awards several scholarships to occupational therapy students each year. Students who are AOTA members and who have completed one full year of occupational therapy specific coursework are invited to complete the online application process.

In partnership with the South Dakota Occupational Therapy Association, AOTF has established The Harlan and Rita Temple Endowed Scholarship. Scholarships are awarded to students in good standing who enrolled in an accredited occupational therapy educational program within the state of South Dakota. Preferences will be given for students who are residents of South Dakota and who are members of the South Dakota Occupational Therapy Association.

Dorothy Anne Elsberry Scholarship

The purpose of this scholarship is to recognize a University of South Dakota student who has shown qualities and performance which emulate the values that were important to Dr. Dorothy Anne Elsberry throughout her career in occupational therapy education. These values include creativity, pragmatism, promotion of occupational therapy, support of the core principles of occupational therapy, scholarship achievement, research participation, service to others, and participation in extracurricular professional activities that exceed the ongoing expectation of involvement. Students who have completed four semesters of the Occupational Therapy Program at The University of South Dakota and have a departmental GPA of at least 3.2 are eligible for this scholarship.

Faithe Family Occupational Therapy Scholarship

The Faithe Family Scholarship Endowment was designed to recognize University of South Dakota students who demonstrate high achievement, plan to serve the healthcare delivery system, and who show financial need.

Occupational Therapy Current Fund Scholarship

This scholarship will support an occupational therapy student "change-maker" who creates a Capstone Project to meet a need in his/her community. This project may be an advocacy project, program implementation, or a research project. Preference will be given to projects which: 1) Promote occupational justice; 2) Advocate for the profession of occupational therapy; 3) Have potential sustainability; and 4) Have clear outcome criteria.

Leonard and Viola Strutz Health Sciences Scholarship

The Leonard & Viola Strutz Scholarship is awarded to a student enrolled in the School of Health Sciences majoring in Nursing, OT or PT. The scholarship will be awarded to an occupational therapy student every three years.

Wanda and Tim Hannahs Scholarship

The Dakota Hospital Foundation (DHF) provided funding to create a scholarship endowment to honor Wanda and Tim Hannahs of Vermillion, South Dakota. The endowment shall provide scholarships for students accepted and currently enrolled in the Occupational Therapy program at the University of South Dakota. Students who demonstrate high academic achievement, leadership, and service are eligible for this scholarship.

VanDemark Scholarship

The VanDemark Scholarship was established at the direction of the VanDemark family. Dr. Guy VanDemark bequeathed an endowment to the Sanford Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation department for the advancement of education, which included a scholarship for a University of South Dakota Occupational Therapy student. Students who have completed the first two semesters of the graduate occupational therapy program at the University of South Dakota with a GPA in the top 50% of the class are eligible for this scholarship.


Freshman Scholarships

For freshman scholarships, see Financial Aid.

All programs, policies and procedures described are subject to change. All statements in this publication concerning requirements, dollar amounts, conditions or other matters are for informational purposes only and are subject to change without notice.